Opening America: State-by-state guide to coronavirus reopening

Apr 19, 2021

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

Editor’s note: This post was last updated April 19, 2021. It will be updated frequently.


Here’s a look at where states are on the reopening curve to help you decide how to plan travel possibilities during these strange times.

For more travel tips and news, sign up for our daily newsletter.

This guide is current as of the time of publication, and we will keep information regularly updated as the situation progresses.

And if you missed it, here’s our country-by-country guide to reopenings, our Africa country-by-country guide and our guide to where Americans can travel for tourism.

See how states are reopening

Click on a state for details

    In This Post

    Alabama to Guam

    Alabama

    Quarantine required: None

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Everything is open in Alabama and anyone can visit. After a January 2021 case surge, cases have since dramatically dropped.

    The state’s Safer at Home order was extended to April 9, 2021, by Gov. Kay Ivey, who then amended it to a Safer Apart Order, which ended mask requirements for businesses and individuals, but still recommended and encouraged their use as well as other social distancing measures. The order is in effect through at least May 5, 2021.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Alabama.

    For more information: Visit the state of Alabama’s COVID-19 information page and Alabama’s travel safety website.

    Alaska

    (Photo by Blue Poppy/Getty Images)
    (Photo by Blue Poppy/Getty Images)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None, although social distancing rules remain in effect

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: Recommended but no longer required. Having a negative COVID-19 PCR test result to avoid quarantine had been required until Feb. 14, 2021, when Alaska’s state of emergency was lifted. Still, the state continues to say people “should consider” getting tested within 72 hours of travel to Alaska and follow social distancing guidelines when in the state. Alaska is now also providing free COVID-19 tests upon arrival in Alaska (they had cost $250 for non-residents). Travelers who opt for arrival testing should follow social distancing guidelines and the state recommends a second test 5-14 days after arrival in Alaska. Note that children under the age of 10 are exempt. Details on the latest recommendations and restrictions can be found here.

    Related: How to visit Alaska during coronavirus

    Important to know: All visitors and returning residents are still advised to complete this health declaration form (where negative test results can still be uploaded). Cases have declined greatly since early January 2021, although COVID-19 continues to affect Alaska. Masks are not required statewide but are recommended. Anchorage put forth its own policies, however, which require that face masks be worn in indoor and crowded outdoor public spaces. After instituting a “hunker down” emergency policy in December 2020, the city relaxed conditions in late January to allow for indoor dining at 50% capacity.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Alaska.

    For more information: Visit the state of Alaska’s Safe Travels page and coronavirus information page.

    Arizona

    Scottsdale, Arizona (Photo by Thomas Roche / Getty Images)
    Scottsdale, Arizona (Photo by Thomas Roche / Getty Images)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Arizona has implemented few restrictions for visitors, even as COVID-19 cases and hospitalizations in the state spiked throughout January 2021, making it one of the country’s coronavirus hot spots. The state has had 851,000 total cases since the pandemic’s onset, but in March and April, cases have declined to pre-holiday levels. Hotels and resorts are open with  social-distancing and cleaning measures. Home sharing is allowed. Face masks are not required statewide, but many counties and businesses require them. Masks are also required for those traveling through Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) or Tucson International Airport (TUC). There is no quarantine requirement, but some states require visitors from Arizona to quarantine. A list of what is open and closed is here.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Arizona.

    For more information: Visit Arizona has details on traveling in the state and the Arizona Department of Health Services has COVID-19 updates.

    Arkansas

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Cases and hospitalizations in the state have continued to drop after a post-holiday surge in January 2021, and hotels and resorts remain open. Home sharing is allowed. All parks and golf courses are open. The Arkansas Department of Health recommends hand washing and mask wearing when among non-household members and social distancing isn’t possible. There was a statewide mask mandate, which Gov. Asa Hutchinson lifted on March 30, 2021, although businesses still have the right to ask customers to wear masks and citizens are expected to respect that. An 11 p.m. curfew for all restaurants and bars that serve alcohol was lifted on Feb. 3, 2021.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Arkansas.

    For more information: Visit the Arkansas Department of Health’s Guidance for Travelers or the State of Arkansas Tourism website.

     California

    San Francisco March 2016. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    San Francisco, March 2016. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: Required for 7-10 days in Los Angeles County (for non-vaccinated travelers). Santa Clara County and San Francisco  lifted their quarantine requirement on March 3, 2021 and  Feb. 23, 2021, respectively. 

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: Done on a county-by-county basis

    Related: Best beaches in California

    Testing guidelines: Anyone who is unvaccinated and traveling from outside of California  is still “strongly recommended” to test and self-quarantine, per the statewide recommendation updated on April 2, 2021.

    Important to know: California recently surpassed 3.7 million confirmed cases of COVID-19, including new variants that may have driven a surge in infections in January 2021. Los Angeles County suffered a hospital bed shortage as it topped 1 million cases; more than 60,000 California residents have died, including 5,000 people in L.A. county in January alone. Cases in the state have since dropped dramatically.

    On Jan. 25, 2021, Gov. Gavin Newsom lifted a statewide stay-at-home order known as the Regional Stay Home Order, which was issued Dec. 3, 2020, and went into effect when a region’s hospital ICU bed availability fell below 15%. All counties have now reverted to restrictions under the Blueprint for a Safer Economy, a statewide plan for living with COVID-19 in the long term. The plan includes a framework for the state’s 58 counties with four risk categories — widespread, substantial, moderate and minimal — and allows sectors to progressively open as disease transmission decreases. A total of 22 counties were under widespread risk as of April 16, 2021; check each county’s website for additional information.

    A Jan. 6, 2021 travel advisory was updated on April 2, 2021 to note that “All travelers arriving in or returning to California from other states or countries should follow CDC travel guidance.” The advisory also says that “non-essential travelers from other states or countries, are strongly discouraged from entering California, and should adhere to the quarantine procedures.” These are recommend that non-essential travelers who are not fully vaccinated should get tested with a viral test 1-3 days before travel, and get tested 3-5 days upon arrival to their destination. They should also stay home and self-quarantine for a full 7 days after travel, even if their test is negative. Non-essential travelers who are not fully vaccinated and don’t get tested should stay home and self-quarantine for 10 days after travel.

    Quarantine measures in just one county have not yet been totally lifted. Los Angeles continues to require a 7-day (with testing) or a 10-day self-quarantine for any non-vaccinated person traveling to or arriving home to the county.

    Statewide, masks are still required for everyone outside of their residence.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in California.

    For more information: Visit the state of California’s Blueprint for a Safer Economy website.

    Colorado

    Quarantine required: None

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: In late December 2020, Colorado reported the first known cases of the new COVID-19 variant that originated in the United Kingdom and cases are still being reported in the state. Overall, statewide cases declined in December 2020, rose again in early January 2021 and had been declining—until reaching a moderately high plateau and then beginning to uptick throughout April 2021.

    The state continues to encourage visitors to embrace “responsible tourism.” All Colorado state parks, national parks and monuments are open, along with public and private campgrounds. In Colorado, masks had been required in all indoor public spaces, and some counties required masks in outdoor spaces when social distancing couldn’t be maintained. As of April 5, 2021, the requirements were amended and mask requirements vary depending on what part of the state you’re visiting.

    Since mid-November 2020, Colorado’s 64 counties had been color-coded on the Colorado COVID-19 Dial into six levels, ranging from Green (Protect Our Neighbors) and Blue (Caution) to Purple (Extreme Risk), with increased restrictions on individuals and businesses depending on the case numbers. Gov. Jared Polis ended the Dial system on April 16, 2021 and some counties immediately loosened all or most capacity restrictions for businesses.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Colorado.

    For more information: Visit the state of Colorado’s COVID-19 information page and the Colorado Tourism website.

    Connecticut

    Old Lyme, Connecticut August 2016. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Old Lyme, Connecticut, August 2016. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No, as of March 19, 2021. Previously, anyone traveling to Connecticut from a state other than New York, New Jersey or Rhode Island or from any international destination was required to self-quarantine for 10 days. Check the Connecticut Travel Portal for the latest updates.

    Conditions: The state of Connecticut asks all travelers to follow the CDC’s travel guidance.

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: The state of Connecticut asks all travelers to follow the CDC’s travel guidance.

    Important to know: Cases had been steadily decreasing in Connecticut, but have plateaued. Masks are required in all public places — indoor and outdoors — when you cannot maintain a distance of six feet from other people. There is currently an 11 p.m. curfew for restaurants, which had been open at 50% capacity, but were allowed to operate at 100% capacity as of March 20, 2021. Bars that serve only alcohol remain closed.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Connecticut.

    For more information: Visit the state of Connecticut’s COVID-19 information page.

    Delaware

    Quarantine required: None

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: People who violate an emergency order — including face masks — can be fined up to $500 or subject to imprisonment for up to six months for each violation.

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Everything is open in Delaware and anyone can visit — although Gov. John Carney issued a Stay-at-Home Advisory, in effect since Dec. 14, 2020, that requires wearing masks in all indoor public spaces and limits capacity in retail stores and restaurants; he lifted the 10 p.m. curfew for restaurants and bars on Jan. 8, 2021.

    Visitors to Delaware are required to wear a face-covering in public settings, including grocery stores, convenience stores and pharmacies, and on public transportation as well as in outdoor settings such as parks, beaches, boardwalks and golf courses where social distancing isn’t possible. Face covering must be worn whenever in a setting with members of another household, regardless of ability to physically distance. Restaurants are open for indoor dining at 50% capacity. It is required to wear your face covering until food is delivered to the table and to dine only with people from your immediate family unit.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Delaware.

    For more information: Visit the state of Delaware’s COVID-19 information page and Visit Delaware’s Travel Advisory.

    Florida

    Miami, January 2017. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Cases in Florida recently topped 2.14 million as the state’s numbers started a slight upward trend during and after Spring Break; the state also continues to have the most cases of COVID-19 variants in the U.S. Florida currently has no restrictions in place for travelers and remains in Phase 3 of its reopening plan. Gov. Ron DeSantis announced a move to Phase 3 on Sept. 25, 2020. The executive order (warning: PDF link) allows all businesses across the state — including restaurants, gyms, retail stores and museums — to open at full capacity. However, people 65 years old and older and those with underlying health issues were urged to stay home.

    Local governments can still implement restrictions on restaurant capacity, but they must “quantify the impact of each limitation or requirement” and justify why such restrictions are in the interest of public health.

    Interestingly, the executive order also suspended the collection of fines for violating COVID-19 restrictions imposed by city and county authorities — including those who don’t wear masks where required (Florida is one of a minority of states with no statewide mask mandate). However, many municipal governments stressed that local mask mandates and ordinances will remain in effect, even though DeSantis has barred them from assessing fines for non-compliance. Miami-Dade County still has a mandate in place.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Florida.

    For more information: Check Florida’s COVID-19 update for travelers. You can also view this Visit Florida page for details on beach reopenings — though most are now open — as well as theme park openings and restrictions. Meanwhile, this Florida State Parks page has information on parks that have reopened along with requirements for visitors.

    Related: 13 of the best beaches in Florida

    Georgia

    Atlanta November 2017. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Atlanta, November 2017. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: None

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Georgia is largely open and Gov. Brian Kemp lifted the remaining capacity and distancing restrictions for businesses, including restaurants and bars, on April 8, 2021. Infections surged throughout January 2021, threatening hospital capacities, and the state recently surpassed 1 million total cases, including cases of the U.K. variant. Masks are “strongly encouraged” when outside of your home, except when eating, drinking or exercising outside. Local governments are permitted to mandate masks and many cities, including Atlanta, require them.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Georgia.

    For more information: Visit the state of Georgia’s COVID-19 information page and its travel restrictions update.

    Guam

    Quarantine required: Yes

    Conditions: This Pacific Ocean territory has simple guidelines that remain in effect: All incoming travelers, whether by land or sea, must undergo a mandatory 14-day quarantine at a government-approved facility before proceeding to their final destination. Testing is now available on Day 6;  a negative result allows the traveler to finish quarantine at their residence or lodging of choice. Transiting travelers will be permitted to pass through Guam as long as they do not leave the airport.

    Penalties for violation: According to published reports in the Pacific Island Times, “The knowing and intentional failure to follow any part of this order constitutes a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment of not more than one year or both (10 GCA, Chapter 19, §19604 (c) Cooperation.”

    Testing guidelines: None at this time

    Important to know: The island territory had to scale back its reopening. It’s currently back in Phase 1. The government has allowed many businesses and restaurants to reopen under strict guidelines. Tourists are not welcome. The new CDC requirement, as of Jan. 26, 2021, that all international air passengers show proof of a negative viral COVID-19 test before being allowed to board their flight to the United States, does not apply to U.S. territories such as Guam.

    For more information: Check Guam’s COVID-19 information page or Visit Guam’s novel coronavirus safety page.

    Hawaii to Maryland

    Hawaii

    Maui, Hawaii February 2020. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Maui, Hawaii February 2020. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: As of Oct. 15, 2020, Hawaii’s Safe Travels program allows you to avoid a 10-day quarantine by presenting an approved COVID-19 negative test result by a Trusted Testing and Travel Partner taken no more than 72 hours before taking off on your flight to Hawaii. The island of Kauai rejoined the state Safe Travels program as of April 5, 2021, allowing travelers who have tested via Safe Travels protocols to arrive without further testing or quarantine. Kauai also has a “Resort Bubble” program for travelers who arrive with test results not approved by the state of Hawaii. The Island of Hawaii (Big Island) continues to randomly test at least 25% of trans-ocean passengers at the airport upon arrival, while Maui which had been strongly recommending free secondary tests on a voluntary basis 72 hours after arrival, has said it will begin testing passengers upon arrival  as soon as the end of April 2021.If your pre-travel test results are not available when you initially arrive in Hawaii, you will need to quarantine at your accommodations until the test results are received. 

    Conditions: The test must be an FDA-approved nucleic acid amplification test (NAAT), performed using a nasal swab, with results from a CLIA-certified laboratory. (A PCR test is a type of NAAT test.)

    Penalties for violation: Violators face a $5,000 fine, a jail time of up to one year, or both.

    Testing guidelines: Vary by island and are required to avoid a 10-day quarantine.

    Related: What to know about testing to visit Hawaii

    Important to know: Hawaii, which in the past month has maintained a positivity rate of under 2%, has done an excellent job at minimizing infection spread via its strict requirements and enforcement—although there has been a recent uptick in cases on Maui. All travelers must register with the state’s Safe Travels program and download the AlohaSafe Alert app. Everyone is required to wear a mask when inside businesses and requested to wear a mask at all times in public spaces such as sidewalks, museums, attractions, parks and even the beach when physical distancing isn’t possible.

    United and Hawaiian Airlines are both offering testing for some inbound passengers to Hawaii.

    Related: I took five COVID-19 tests to get the Hawaii, and it was worth it 

    Vaccinated travelers are still required to test to avoid quarantine (although vaccine passports are said to be in the works). In addition, Hawaii lawmakers are discussing a bill that would standardize testing requirements across all islands.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Hawaii.

    For more information: Visit the state of Hawaii’s travel requirements for visitors page and COVID-19 information page.

    Idaho

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Idaho’s stay-at-home order expired on April 30, 2020 and the state is currently back in Stage 3 of the “Idaho Rebound” reopening plan, which allows businesses such as bars and nightclubs to operate with physical distancing and all patrons seated. Gov. Brad Little never issued a mask mandate but has strongly urged Idaho residents to wear masks, and Boise and several counties in the state have mandated masks in all public settings where physical distancing isn’t possible. However, Idaho House lawmakers recently approved a bill that would prohibit local officials from mandating masks.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Idaho.

    For more information: Visit Idaho’s coronavirus information page or Visit Idaho’s COVID-19 Travel Information page.

    Illinois

    Chicago August 2014. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Chicago, August 2014. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: Travelers from certain states are required to quarantine if visiting Chicago, which modified its Emergency Order on Nov. 13, 2020, for anyone coming into the City of Chicago from designated states with a significant degree of community-wide spread of COVID-19. The order was again modified, effective Jan. 15, 2021, to say that anyone traveling from a state on the Orange list should obtain a negative COVID-19 test result no more than 72 hours prior to arrival in Chicago (and then follow strict masking, social distancing and avoidance of in-person gatherings) or they must quarantine for a 10-day period (or the duration of their time in Chicago, whichever is shorter). As of Feb. 23, 2021, travelers from Orange states who have been fully vaccinated (must be two weeks after the second dose, if they have received a two-dose vaccine or two weeks after a single dose of a one-dose vaccine) and have no symptoms are exempt from testing and quarantine. Those traveling from Yellow states do not require a test or a quarantine but must maintain strict masking and social distancing. Details can be found here.

    Additionally, Cook County, which includes many of Chicago’s suburbs, also directs visitors and returning residents to test and quarantine.

    Conditions: Exceptions for those who are fully vaccinated and symptom-free

    Penalties for violation: Those who violate the city of Chicago’s emergency travel order are subject to fines of $100–$500 per day, up to a maximum of $7,000.

    Testing guidelines: Only for travelers to Chicago and Cook County from certain states

    Important to know: Illinois, which has reported more than 1.29 million cases, has been divided into 11 regions, all of which are in Phase 4 of a five-phase reopening plan. As of Jan. 31, 2021, Chicago moved to Phase 4, which lessened some restrictions and allowed indoor dining at restaurants at 50% of capacity (or a maximum of 50 people). Face coverings are required in all public places and Gov. J.B. Pritzker has extended the mandate for another 150 days through June 3, 2021.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Illinois.

    For more information: Visit the Illinois Department of Health’s COVID-19 information and resource page and the Illinois Tourism Office’s Travel Safe page.

    Indiana

    Indianapolis August 2018. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Indianapolis, August 2018. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Indiana began its phased reopening on May 4, 2020, and in late September 2020 Gov. Eric Holcomb announced that Indiana would enter Stage 5, which has remained in effect. Cases surged throughout November and December last year, but have recently dropped considerably. All 92 countries in Indiana are coded by risk levels of coronavirus spread.

    In Indianapolis, a health order, effective Nov. 16, 2020, remains in place and limits capacity in bars, restaurants and other public venues — but capacity limits were raised in March 2021 to 50% for bars and 75% for restaurants. The new curfew for bars and restaurants is 2 a.m.

    A statewide mask mandate was put in place in July 2020 when Gov. Holcomb signed an executive order requiring the wearing of face masks in public spaces. On April 6, 2021, it was lifted and changed to an advisory rather than a requirement. Capacity limitations on social gatherings and events remain mandated by a county’s color-coded risk level.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Indiana.

    For more information: Check the state of Indiana’s coronavirus information page or the Visit Indiana tourism website.

    Iowa

    Sunset over the Iowa capitol in Des Moines
    Sunset over the Iowa capitol in Des Moines (Photo by Getty Images)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: A statewide stay-at-home order was never issued in Iowa. There were some restrictions, which Gov. Kim Reynolds started to lift on May 1, 2020. Cases began to spike again across the state in the fall, but have leveled off since peaking in November 2020.

    The state government has once again relaxed all restrictions regarding capacity limits for Iowan establishments and is allowing them to operate only with social-distancing measures in effect. This includes restaurants, bars, casinos, racetracks, malls and other venues.  After scoffing at masks, Gov. Reynolds issued enhanced public health measures, effective Nov. 17, 2020, with requirements that Iowans wear masks and social distance. Those measures were rescinded on Feb. 7, 2021, but people are still encouraged to wear masks and social distance.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Iowa.

    For more information: Visit the state of Iowa’s coronavirus information page and Travel Iowa’s COVID-19 Updates page.

    Kansas

    Kansas state capitol
    (Photo by Stephanie A Sellers/Shutterstock)

    Quarantine required: Yes, but only from specific states and countries. See details here.

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Kansas’s stay-at-home order expired on May 3, 2020, and the state began its phased reopening the following day. The reopening plan is not a statewide mandate, and local municipalities may have community-specific guidance.

    Gov. Laura Kelly signed an executive order requiring the use of face masks in public spaces, effective July 3, 2020, but counties are allowed to opt-out, so check local requirements.

    All activities, venues and establishments are allowed to operate so long as they follow public health guidelines. Nonessential travel has been allowed to resume, but the state is currently mandating a quarantine of 7 days (with testing) or 10 days (without testing) for anyone who has visited or traveled to certain states and countries.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Kansas.

    For more information: Visit the state of Kansas’s coronavirus information page.

    Kentucky

    Kentucky state capitol building
    (Photo by Alexey Stiop/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No, although it is recommended for travelers returning from international destinations and certain states.

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: The state recommends travelers follow current CDC travel guidance for vaccinated and unvaccinated travelers.

    Important to know: Kentucky began its gradual reopening back in May 2020. Currently, most businesses are open, but with new protocols in place. On July 17, 2020, the Kentucky Supreme Court kept Gov. Andy Beshear’s mandatory mask order in place, which he recently extended through at least April 29, 2021.

    On April 2, 2021, the Kentucky Department of Public Health revised its travel advisory to follow the CDC’s travel guidance for vaccinated and unvaccinated travelers.

    Restaurant capacity in Kentucky is currently restricted to 60%. Cases have been trending downward to a plateau, but most counties in the state remain in the orange (accelerated) or yellow (community spread) zone.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Kentucky.

    For more information: Visit the state of Kentucky’s coronavirus information page.

    Louisiana

    New Orleans March 2015. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    New Orleans, March 2015. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Louisiana’s statewide mask mandate remains in effect. Most of the state entered Phase 3 of its reopening plan in September 2020, but due to a “third surge” in the state, Gov. John Bel Edwards reverted to Phase 2 mitigation, effective Nov. 25, 2020 and extended through  March 31, 2021 before being returned to Phase 3. The majority of businesses, including restaurants and salons, moved to 75% capacity and indoor gatherings and event centers are capped at 50% capacity, but limited to 250 people. Bars in all parishes are now open for indoor service at 25% capacity, not to exceed 250 people, but those in parishes where positivity is 5% or lower for two consecutive weeks may have indoor service at 50% capacity, not to exceed 250 people. Alcohol sales still must end at 11 p.m. Hotels are open.

    The ongoing COVID-19 surge has resulted in the cancellation of Mardi Gras parades in New Orleans and St. Tammany parishes, while other locales have delayed the parades until late May 2021. Recent reports indicate that Mardi Gras 2020, which took place just as the virus was beginning to spread, may have accounted for as many as 50,000 infections.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Louisiana.

    For more information: Visit the state of Louisiana’s coronavirus information page.

    Maine

    Quarantine required: Yes, for travelers who have not been vaccinated or recovered from COVID-19 until May 1, 2021 (anticipated date of Maine Moving Forward Plan).

    Conditions: All non-vaccinated or non-recovered visitors must quarantine for 10 days upon arrival in Maine, with the exception of those arriving from New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, Rhode Island or Massachusetts.  Exemptions for New York and New Jersey ended Nov. 4, 2020. Testing can exempt a travelers from quarantine.

    Penalties for violation: Up to six months in jail, a $1,000 fine and/or civil damages to the state.

    Testing guidelines: Until May 1, 2021, visitors who show the results of a negative PCR test taken within 72 hours of arrival in Maine are exempt from quarantine. They will be asked to show these results at their place of lodging in the state and will be asked to fill out a Certificate of Compliance form. Tests are also available in Maine, and visitors may quarantine until they receive a negative result, but the state is recommending that travelers get tested before they arrive. Details are here. On May 1, 2021, Maine will shift its COVID-19 travel policy to automatically exempt all states, unless a state is otherwise determined by the Maine CDC as being high-risk. If one or more states see a spike in cases of highly contagious COVID-19 variants, Maine will apply its test or quarantine requirement to travelers to and from that state. The Maine CDC will publicly announce any such states when they are identified.

    Important to know: Maine had been managing its COVID-19 cases well, but it did experience a steady uptick in cases from early December 2020 to mid-January 2021. The state’s tourist sites, including museums, shops and restaurants, are all open and are required to pass a stringent set of hygiene, social distancing and mask-wearing requirements. You may encounter timed entry, modified hours or limited capacity at many sites. Maine has a statewide, enforced mandate requiring that masks be worn in public places where social distancing is not possible. Details are available in the state’s FAQ section

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Maine.

    For more information: Visit Keep Maine Healthy.

    Maryland

    The tall ships of Baltimore
    The tall ships of Baltimore. (Photo courtesy of Visit Baltimore)

    Quarantine required: No. In mid-December 2020, Maryland began requiring all visitors and returning residents to obtain a negative COVID-19 test result or to quarantine for 10 days, but the order was lifted as of March 12, 2021.

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: Anyone who violates state or local COVID-19 orders can face a misdemeanor charge, subject to imprisonment for up to a year or a fine of up to $5,000 or both.

    Testing guidelines: A Maryland Department of Health (MDH) travel advisory remains in place, and Marylanders continue to be encouraged to get tested for COVID-19 upon their return from out-of-state travel.

    Important to know: Maryland, where cases rose through mid-January 2021 before beginning to decline, is in Phase Three of its reopening plan. Capacity limits have been lifted on outdoor and indoor dining at restaurants and bars, retail businesses, religious facilities, fitness centers, casinos, personal services, and indoor recreational establishments. Bars and restaurants are open for seated and distanced service only—patrons may not stand at a crowded bar. An executive order by Gov. Larry Hogan requires everyone over the age of five to wear face coverings in all indoor public spaces as well as outdoors when social distancing isn’t possible. 

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Maryland.

    For more information: Visit the state of Maryland’s COVID-19 information page and Visit Maryland’s COVID-19 guidance for travelers.

    Washington, D.C.

    Aerial photo of the Washington Monument with the Capitol in the background. (Photo by Andy Dunaway/USAF via Getty Images)
    Aerial photo of the Washington Monument with the Capitol in the background. (Photo by Andy Dunaway/USAF via Getty Images

    Quarantine required: None, but returning residents are required to limit activities and self-monitor for 14 days or until they receive a negative test result taken 3-5 days after their return.

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: Non-vaccinated travelers entering the District from high-risk states must get tested within 72 hours prior to travel and if staying in D.C. for more than three days, get tested again 3-5 days after arrival. Visitors may be asked to show results when entering a hotel, restaurant or business. Effective March 3, 2021, the testing requirement is waived if an individual has been fully vaccinated and does not have COVID-19 symptoms. The requirement is also waived for those who have tested positive for COVID-19 within the last 90 days and don’t have symptoms. The full updated guidance is here.

    Important to know: Washington, D.C., which saw a rise in cases through mid-January 2021, has been in Phase Two of reopening since June 22, 2020. Capacity limitations were tightened in late November and indoor dining was banned through Jan. 22, 2021. Restaurants are now open at 25% capacity. Museums have reopened with strict capacity limits and no guided tours. Retail stores are restricted to 50% capacity. Beginning May 1, 2021, the following openings and capacity restrictions will take effect.

    Mayor Muriel Bowser signed an executive order on July 24, 2020, requiring the use of face masks in public, as well as continued social distancing.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Washington, DC.

    For more information: Go to Washington D.C.’s coronavirus hub page.

    Massachusetts to New Jersey

    Massachusetts

    Quarantine required: No, as of March 22, 2021, a Travel Advisory recommending a 10-day quarantine (which can be avoided with testing) is in effect for non-vaccinated travelers.

    Conditions: Fully vaccinated travelers without symptoms are exempt from testing and quarantine.

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: A negative PCR test taken within 72 hours of arriving in Massachusetts will exempt non-vaccinated visitors from the advised quarantine. If the visitor has not taken a test before arriving in the state, quarantine is advised until they receive a negative test result after arrival.

    Important to know: Most of the state’s tourism sites are open for business, including hotels and other kinds of lodging, parks and recreation areas, and restaurants. There is a statewide mask mandate in place. Massachusetts’ Gov. Charlie Baker moved the state into Phase 3, Step 2 of its reopening plan on March 1, 2021 and then Phase 4, Step 1 on March 22, 2021. As of March 1, indoor restaurants have no capacity limits and are able to host musical performances. Concert halls, theaters and other indoor performance spaces reopened at 50% capacity (maximum 500 people). Stadiums, arenas and ballparks reopened March 22 at 12% capacity.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Massachusetts.

    For more information: Visit the State of Massachusetts COVID-19 Travel Advisory and COVID-19 Updates.

    Michigan

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: In March and April 2021, Michigan entered a fourth wave of cases, fueled by the U.K. variant and with cases at or near November-December 2020 but with younger patients hospitalized. In late September 2020, Michigan switched to a new format and coding for regional COVID-19 risk factors, with eight regions and six levels: Low and then A to E. As of April 16, 2021, all eight regions are back in highest-risk level, Level E.

    Michigan’s Gov. Gretchen Whitmer announced strict COVID-19 regulations for restaurants and bars on Nov. 15, 2020 that were then extended through Feb. 1, 2021. Restrictions were then relaxed to allow indoor dining at 25% capacity with a 10 p.m. curfew restrictions followed by 50% capacity and 11 p.m. curfew in early March 2021. State parks and beaches are open.

    An executive order signed by Gov. Whitmer in July 2020 reiterated that individuals must wear masks both in indoor public spaces, and outdoor spaces where social distancing is not possible. It also requires all businesses open to the public to refuse entry or service to patrons who do not wear a face covering, with limited exceptions. In early October 2020, the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) issued an Emergency Order that maintained the governor’s executive order as much as possible.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Michigan.

    For more information: Visit the MI Safe Start website, which contains specific information about each region of the state, and Pure Michigan’s Guidelines for Travelers.

    Minnesota

    Minneapolis June 2017. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Minneapolis, June 2017. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: Recommended for 14 days, but not required

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Minnesota’s stay-at-home order expired on May 17, 2020, but after cases began to spike last fall, Gov. Tim Walz announced Dial Back, Minnesota, a four-week pause in most social activities, in-person dining, sports and fitness activity through Dec. 18, 2020. The plan was extended through early January 2021 when it transitioned to Stay Safe, Minnesota, Details are here.

    Cases in the state have been on the rise since early April 2021. As of March 15, 2021, restaurants and bars are open at 75% capacity. State parks and campgrounds have reopened. Most casinos and many hotels are open again. Shopping and retail stores are now open and Mall of America is open for in-person shopping and dining with significant safety enhancements.

    Gov. Walz signed an executive order requiring all residents and non-residents to wear a face-covering in all indoor public spaces and business, when waiting to get into a business, and when riding on public transportation. It remains in effect through at least mid-May 2021.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 cases in Minnesota.

    For more information: Minnesota Department of Health COVID-19 page.

    Mississippi

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Mississippi residents are encouraged to wear masks and maintain a safe social distance of six feet or more in public spaces, and as steadily rose in December 2020 and early January 2021, Gov. Tate Reeves ordered that wearing masks is required in most of the state’s counties. All retail businesses, gyms, restaurants and bars have reopened, and as cases declined, Gov. Reeves rolled back most capacity restrictions and lifted mask mandates for all counties on March 2, 2021.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 cases in Mississippi.

    For more information: Visit the Mississippi State Department of Health

    Missouri

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Missouri’s stay-at-home order expired in May 2020 and the state fully reopened on June 18, 2020. All statewide health orders and restrictions are lifted, but local authorities are allowed to keep or enact restrictions if needed.

    After experiencing a rising number of cases in fall 2020, cases in the state declined before experiencing a mild uptick in April 2021. Missouri is still asking all individuals to continue practicing social distancing and proper hygiene. Statewide, masks are recommended but not required, although many counties have enacted requirements. Kansas City extended its mask order through May 1, 2021, but lifted capacity restrictions and orders requiring bars and restaurants to close at 10 p.m. St. Louis restaurants and bars are now open at 50% capacity with a midnight curfew.

    Attractions such as the Missouri Botanical Garden are open, although with social distancing measures and mask requirements.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 cases in Missouri.

    For more information: Visit the Missouri Department of Health’s COVID-19 page.

    Montana

    Butte, Montana 2020. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Butte, Montana, 2020. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Montana had a mandatory quarantine for out-of-state visitors, but it expired early last summer and was never renewed. The state, which saw a surge of cases in fall 2020 but has since stabilized, is in Phase 2 of its reopening and most hotels, bars, restaurants and other businesses are open; capacity restrictions and 10 p.m. closures were lifted in January 2021. Newly elected Gov. Greg Gianforte also let the state’s mask requirement expire on Feb. 12, 2021, but several counties are keeping some restrictions in place (check here for local rules).

    Related: I visited Glacier and Yellowstone and it was weird

    The popular Museum of the Rockies is open, but reservations are encouraged to make sure you get in. Montana is home to both Yellowstone National Park and Glacier National Park. For 2021 in Yellowstone, the road between Tower-Roosevelt to Canyon Village will be closed. Additionally, there will be no trail access to Mount Washburn. Glacier National Park is instituting an online reservation system (ticketed entry) for the Going-to-the-Sun Road corridor between the park’s West and St. Mary Entrances from May 28 to September 6, 2021. You can check the status of the state’s parks and public spaces here.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 cases in Montana.

    For more information: Check Visit Montana or Montana’s COVID-19 website.

    Nebraska

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: There was never any formal stay-at-home order for Nebraska, and it has remained one of the most wide-open states.

    Gov. Pete Ricketts moved most of the state into phase 3 in June 2020 and all counties are currently in phase 3.1 with reintroduced Directed Health Measures. As cases declined, all counties in the state were moved into the Green Zone on Jan. 30, 2021, effective through May 31, 2021, with eased restrictions.

    The latest guidelines also require that masks be worn inside businesses when you can’t stay six feet away from others.

    Hotels, golf courses and other tourist attractions are open and capacity restrictions are lifted on most businesses. The Nebraska National Forest is open and campgrounds and RV centers are available, but visitor centers remain closed.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Nebraska.

    For more information: Visit Nebraska’s COVID-19 page.

    Nevada

    Las Vegas May 2016. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Las Vegas, May 2016. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Related: Ways Vegas has changed in the age of COVID-19

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: There are no restrictions for travelers, but all individuals are required to wear face masks when in public. The lights are back on in Las Vegas — somewhat. In September 2020, the Nevada COVID-19 Mitigation & Management Task Force reopened Clark County bars, taverns, wineries and similar businesses that follow COVID-19 guidelines and they can now operate at 50% capacity. Nightclubs, karaoke bars and adult entertainment establishments remain closed through  at least May 1, 2021.

    Gov. Steve Sisolak instituted a Nevada Statewide Pause on Nov. 24, 2020 that limited capacity at restaurants, bars, wineries, casinos, amusement parks and other venues; capacity was increased to 50% on March 15, 2021. Retail stores, malls and casinos also remain at 50% capacity. 

    People are required to maintain safe social distance and wear masks whenever in public spaces, including in outdoor locations such as national and state parks.  

    Looking forward, Gov. Sisolak has announced Nevada will fully reopen at 100% capacity by June 1, 2021. Social distancing guidelines will vary place-to-place by May 1, 2021, but mask wearing will be still be required in all 17 Nevada counties.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Nevada.

    For more information: Visit the Nevada Health Response website and Travel Nevada website.

    New Hampshire

    USA, New Hampshire, Lake Winnipesaukee Region (Walter Bibikow/Getty Images)
    New Hampshire, Lake Winnipesaukee Region (Walter Bibikow/Getty Images)

    Quarantine required: Yes, for 10 days, but only non-vaccinated travelers after the last date of any international travel (except for essential travel to/from Canada) or travel on a cruise ship. Quarantine is recommended but not required for domestic travelers.

    Conditions: Quarantine exemptions are allowed after international travel or cruise travel for those who are at least two weeks past being fully vaccinated and those who are within 90 days of a prior COVID-19 infected diagnosed by PCR or antigen testing. Details can be found here. All domestic visitors are now asked to follow CDC travel guidance.

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: Non-exempt international travelers or those returning from a cruise can opt to take a COVID-19 PCR test on day 6 or 7 of quarantine to tend quarantine on day 7 if they receive a negative result.

    Important to know: New Hampshire Gov. Chris Sununu has issued a statewide mask mandate for anyone over the age of five when in public places, indoors or outdoors, when they are unable to maintain social distancing—but it was lifted as of April 16, 2021. Mask wearing is encouraged and some cities have local mandates in place. Most tourist infrastructure and activities (campgrounds, beaches, amusement parks, hotels, restaurants) are open, but may be enforcing capacity restrictions.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in New Hampshire.

    For more information: Visit New Hampshire Safer at Home and the Visit New Hampshire website.

    New Jersey

    Quarantine required: The state discourages any non-essential travel and unvaccinated travelers entering New Jersey from any state other than New York, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Delaware, are requested to quarantine for 10 days per current CDC guidelines. See details here.

    Conditions: Travelers who are at least two weeks past being fully vaccinated or within 90 days of a positive test for COVID-19 are exempt from quarantine.

    Penalties for violation: New Jersey characterizes quarantine as voluntary, although compliance is expected. Democratic Gov. Phil Murphy has said he’s empowering the health department to enforce the rules.

    Testing guidelines: Per CDC guidelines, unvaccinated travelers who test negative before travel into or a return to New Jersey and again 3-5 days after entering the state can quarantine for seven days.

    Important to know: Cases in New Jersey surged from the fall 2020 into January 2021 before declining; total cases have topped 971,000. Face masks are required outside the home when social distancing isn’t possible and when entering businesses or social gatherings. Details can be found here. Casinos are open at 50% capacity 9with masks required), while restaurants and bars are open with capacity restrictions (now also 50%) with masks required when not eating or drinking. Gov. Murphy had required bars and restaurants to close indoor service by 10 p.m., but that was lifted on Feb. 5. 2021, but the ban on indoor seating at bars (rather than at tables) remains.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in New Jersey.

    For more information: Visit the New Jersey coronavirus hub.

    New Mexico to South Carolina

    New Mexico

    Santa Fe, New Mexico November 2014. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Santa Fe, New Mexico, November 2014. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: None, as of Feb. 11, 2021. Out-of-state visitors had been required to self-quarantine for 14 days if they were coming from what New Mexico considered high-risk states. Now they are strongly advised to self-quarantine or get tested upon arrival.

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None, as of Feb. 11, 2021

    Testing guidelines: All visitors to New Mexico are strongly encouraged to get tested for COVID-19 after their arrival.

    Important to know: Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham ordered a two-week lockdown (Nov. 16-30, 2020) to control the spread of COVID-19, then as of Dec. 2, 2020, the state began using a tiered county-by-county system (green, turquoise, yellow, red) based on positive test rates. Those with rates under 5% for two weeks will have the least restrictions. Currently, all of New Mexico’s 32 counties have moved into yellow, turquoise or green zones that allow for a loosening of restrictions.

    Face masks are mandated throughout the state. People who violate the policy face a $100 fine. Most businesses have reopened with social distancing and capacity restrictions based on their county’s status. State parks reopened to all visitors as of Feb. 27, 2021; reservations are required for campgrounds.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in New Mexico.

    For more information: Visit Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham’s COVID-19 information page and Visit New Mexico’s traveler information page.

    New York

    New York City March 2020. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    New York City, March 2020. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No. As of April 10, 2021, asymptomatic travelers are no longer required to quarantine, although quarantine, consistent with the CDC recommendations, is still recommended for all travelers who are not fully vaccinated or have not recovered from laboratory confirmed COVID-19 during the previous 3 months. See details here.

    Conditions: Arriving passengers are still required to fill out a traveler health form, which is being distributed by airlines to passengers flying to New York State. Travelers who leave the airport without completing the form will be subject to a $10,000 fine and may be brought to a hearing and ordered to complete mandatory quarantine. Travelers coming to New York through other means of transport, including trains and cars, must fill out the form online.

    New York quarantine traveler health forms. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    New York quarantine traveler health forms. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Penalties for violation: Maximum fine is $10,000.

    Testing guidelines: Per CDC travel guidance, it is recommended that all unvaccinated domestic travelers from states other than New Jersey, Connecticut and Pennsylvania and those domestic travelers who have not recovered from COVID-19 in the past 3 months get tested 3-5 days after arrival in New York, consider non-mandated self-quarantine (7 days if tested on day 3-5, otherwise 10 days), and avoid contact with people at higher risk for severe disease for 14 days, regardless of test result. Per the CDC’s requirement, as of Jan. 26, 2021, all travelers arriving on international flights to the U.S., even those who are fully vaccinated, must present a negative test COVID-19 PCR or Antigen test taken within 72 hours of boarding. Also per the CDC, even fully vaccinated individuals who have not recovered from COVID-19 in the past three months are recommended to get tested 3-5 days after arrival in New York from international travel.

    Important to know: After being the epicenter of the coronavirus in spring 2020, New York had managed to keep its COVID-19 cases in check, but cases rose steadily from late November 2020, peaking in mid-January 2021 and reaching 1.98 million cases (with more than 51,000 deaths) by mid-April 2021. Case counts are lower now, however, health authorities have identified a troubling new New York City variant that is driving community spread in some city neighborhoods.

    Most businesses and tourist sites are open in New York, but there are capacity and social-distancing restrictions. Masks are required in all indoor public spaces, mass transit and outdoors when social distancing isn’t possible. Indoor dining is allowed with capacity restrictions that differ by region (New York City restaurants returned to indoor dining at 50% capacity on March 19, 2021). Restaurants and bars can stay open un midnight as of April 19, 2021. Many hotels are open, but Broadway theater will not be allowed to reopen until fall 2021. Professional sporting events originally resumed without fans, but as of Feb. 23, 2021, stadiums and arenas are allowed to welcome fans at limited capacity (20% for outdoor stadiums and 10% for indoor arenas) with required testing or proof of vaccination. Film production started back up and outdoor attractions such as zoos are open. New York State parks are also open.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in New York.

    Related: New York further easing travel restrictions, no more quarantine

    For more information: Visit the New York State Health Department’s COVID-19 page and Travel Advisory.

    North Carolina

    (Photo by Susanne Neumann / Getty Images)
    (Photo by Susanne Neumann / Getty Images)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: North Carolina had been paused in Phase 3 of its reopening, but with cases rising and more than 80% of the state’s counties in Red or Orange risk categories, Gov. Roy Cooper issued a Modified Stay at Home Order on Dec. 11, 2020, that was extended through late February 2021. Easing of those restrictions has occurred and as of March 26, 2021 (through at least April 30, 2021), there is no longer a curfew or alcohol service at restaurants and bars. Capacity is 75% for restaurants (50% for bars, sporting arenas and other live performance venues) and 100% for museums, aquariums and retail businesses.

    Face coverings are required at all times in all public indoor settings.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in North Carolina.

    For more information: Visit the North Carolina COVID-19 hub.

    North Dakota

    Quarantine required: None
    Conditions: None
    Penalties for violation: None
    Testing guidelines: None
    Important to know: The state that at one time said it was in the moderate to low risk phase, depending on the county, saw a huge COVID-19 surge in fall 2020 before cases fell in late December 2020 and early January 2021. Masks, which had been mandatory since Nov. 13, 2020, when Gov. Doug Burgum issued a statewide requirement, are no longer mandated as of Jan. 15, 2021, but are encouraged in public places. Casinos are open, as are state parks, although visitors centers remain closed. 
    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in North Dakota.

    Ohio

    Cleveland February 2017. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Cleveland February 2017. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: Anyone arriving in Ohio is urged to follow CDC travel guidelines; only unvaccinated travelers are urged to quarantine for 10 days (7 days with tests before travel and after arrival).

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: Unvaccinated travelers are encouraged to follow CDC travel guidelines with testing before travel and after arrival in Ohio. See details here.

    Important to know: Most businesses are open. Even large entertainment and leisure venues such as country clubs and movie theaters were given the go-ahead to reopen. Many of the state’s counties are currently considered high-risk for COVID-19. Residents and visitors are required to wear a mask when at an indoor location that isn’t a residence and outdoors when social distancing isn’t possible.

    The state had issued an Ohio Stay at Home Tonight Order, which required that Ohioans stay at home between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. for three weeks (Nov. 19–Dec. 10, 2020). As total statewide case counts topped 900,000, the order was extended through Feb. 11, 2021, with an 11 p.m. curfew, before being allowed to expire. All restaurants and bars are required to follow strict social distancing mandates. Currently, total cases in the state are now more than 1,050,000.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Ohio.

    For more information: Ohio Department of Health COVID-19 page.

    Oklahoma

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Cases surged in the state through mid-January 2021, threatening to overwhelm hospitals in certain areas. Oklahoma never issued a statewide stay-at-home order, but in early December 2020, Gov. Kevin Stitt did announce statewide limitations on some public and social gatherings and his executive order also extends the social distancing rules for bars and restaurants.

    The state does not have a statewide mask mandate, but wearing one is recommended. Several cities, such as Oklahoma City and Tulsa, have enacted mask requirements and capacity limitations in public spaces such as restaurants and bars. Furthermore, with the “Safer in Oklahoma” policy, individuals entering the state from an area with substantial community spread, need to wear a face-covering in all public spaces and limit participation in indoor gatherings for 10-14 days in accordance with CDC guidelines.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Oklahoma.

    For more information: Oklahoma COVID-19 resources hub.

    Oregon

    Quarantine required: No, but recommended for unvaccinated travelers. See details here.

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Gov. Kate Brown joined her fellow governors in California and Washington state in issuing a Travel Advisory on Nov. 13, 2020, that urged all visitors entering these three states or returning home from outside these states to self-quarantine for 14 days. The advisory also urged the state’s residents to avoid non-essential travel. The advisory has been updated to exempt fully vaccinated travelers from the recommended self-quarantine.

    Following a statewide Two-Week Freeze (Nov.–Dec. 2, 2020) that limited restaurants to take-out only and closed zoos, gardens, aquariums, museums and other indoor entertainment venues, Gov. Brown on Dec. 3, 2020, introduced a new framework that classifies Oregon’s counties as extreme, high, moderate or low risk with health and safety measures enforced based on the risk level and designed to bring cases down. As of April 17, 2021,14 counties were classified as “high risk” with indoor dining at 25% capacity and retail limited to 50% capacity.

    Gov. Brown has extended Oregon’s state of emergency through May 2, 2021.

    Face coverings are required in public indoor spaces in all counties, along with outdoor public spaces where physical distance can’t be maintained.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Oregon.

    For more information: Visit the state of Oregon COVID-19 information website and Travel Oregon’s travel alerts page.

    Pennsylvania

    Philadelphia September 2017. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Philadelphia, September 2017. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No, as of March 1, 2021. See updated guidance here.

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Pennsylvania is seeing a surge of cases and hospitalizations, driven by variants, in April 2021. Most restaurants and bars and many attractions are open, however, and capacities for restaurants, shopping malls and casinos were expanded statewide, effective April 4, 2021. Details are here.

    Some attractions, such as Valley Forge National Historical Park near Philadelphia, have closed all or most indoor areas. Pennsylvania requires masks in all public spaces both indoors and outdoors when unable to maintain social distancing. Pennsylvania has had more than 1.1 million cases of COVID-19 as of mid-April 2021.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Pennsylvania.

    For more information: Visit the state of Pennsylvania’s COVID-19 Information for Travelers page.

    Puerto Rico

    Quarantine required: Not with testing. All travelers arriving by air through San Juan International Airport are required to present a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken within 72 hours of arrival and undergo enhanced health screenings; without the required test, they must take one on the island within 48 hours of arrival. Without a test, a 14-day quarantine is required,

    Conditions: Negative PCR coronavirus test taken within 72 hours of arrival. Online Travel Declaration forms must be filled out by all arriving passengers to obtain an Airport Exit QR code.  Some countries are banned from entering (following U.S. rules).

    Penalties for violation: Mandatory fine for not following testing protocols. There are also penalties for not following mask requirements.

    Testing guidelines: Negative COVID-19 PCR test taken with three days (72 hours) of arrival and uploaded to the Puerto Rico Health Department’s online portal; even fully vaccinated travelers must do this.

    Important to know: COVID-19 has been surging in Puerto Rico since late March 2021. Beaches have fully reopened and restaurants, casinos, museums and hotel pools are open at 30% capacity. Bars remain closed. Masks are required when in public places. An island-wide curfew of 10 p.m. to 5 a.m. is currently in effect.

    As of Jan. 26, 2021, the CDC requires all international air passengers arriving in the United States and its territories to provide negative viral COVID-19 test results taken at least 72 hours prior to travel. But travelers from Puerto Rico to the mainland U.S. will not need to follow the CDC protocols.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Puerto Rico.

    For more information: Visit the Travel Safe Puerto Rico portal or Discover Puerto Rico.

    Rhode Island

    Newport December 2012. Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Newport, Rhode Island, December 2012. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: A quarantine requirement of 10 days (shortened with testing) is still in place for unvaccinated travelers coming from “hot spot” states with high cases of coronavirus and for international travelers.

    Conditions: Vaccinated travelers who are two weeks past completing their shots and travelers who have recovered from COVID-19 within the past 90 days are exempt from quarantine and testing. Unvaccinated travelers do have the option to provide a negative test taken 72 hours before arrival to Rhode Island to escape the 10-day quarantine. Travelers can also take a test after they arrive and if they receive a negative result, they can stop quarantining. However, they still need to self-monitor for symptoms of COVID-19 for 10 days, wear a mask any time they are near people who aren’t household members and follow physical distancing guidelines. Rhode Island requires out-of-state visitors to complete a certificate of compliance with out-of-state travel quarantine/testing requirements and out-of-state travel screening form upon arriving in Rhode Island.

    Penalties for violation: The R.I. Department of Health is empowered to impose a fine of $100 for a first offense, $250 for a second offense and $500 for a third.

    Testing guidelines: PCR test is required to exit quarantine.

    Important to know: Rhode Island is currently in phase 3 of its reopening following a two-week “pause” on Nov. 30, 2020 that was extended through the end of 2020. Social gatherings are still limited and there are capacity restrictions on some businesses. Restaurants are open with 66% occupancy and bars have been allowed to re-open, but with social distancing requirements and an 11 p.m. closing time. State parks and beaches, public gardens, historical sites, zoos and even mini-golf facilities are among the outdoor locations that have opened. Rhode Island beaches are open, but some amenities might be closed.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 cases in Rhode Island.

    For more information: Visit Rhode Island COVID-19 hub.

    South Carolina

    Charleston August 2017. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Charleston, August 2017. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: South Carolina’s stay-at-home order expired in May 2020. Currently, most of the state has reopened under new guidelines encouraging social distancing and new sanitary requirements, including mask-wearing. However, rising cases in Charleston in December 2020 and January 2021 caused the city to enact restrictions on social gatherings and to require those who could work from home to do so.

    The state also reported the first two known cases of the South African COVID-19 variant in the U.S. on Jan. 28, 2021. Cases declined as of mid-February 2021, but have since plateaued.

    Restrictions on attractions and sports were lifted in late May 2020. That meant that places like waterparks, amusement parks and zoos all reopened. Retail stores have also had their capacity restraints lifted. Bars had been given an 11 p.m. curfew to try to lessen the case surge since the beginning of the year, but the restriction and most others in the state was lifted March 1, 2021. Gov. Henry McMaster also lifted mask mandates for all state buildings in early March 2021, but dozens of local governments in the state have opted to keep them in place.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 cases in South Carolina.

    For more information: South Carolina health department COVID-19 page.

    South Dakota to Wyoming

    South Dakota

    Mount Rushmore September 2013. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Mount Rushmore, September 2013. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: COVID-19 cases spiked throughout the state in fall 2020, but numbers have steadily declined since December. South Dakota is one of a handful of states that never had a stay-at-home order or a statewide mask mandate. Gov. Kristi Noem announced a “back to normal” plan with guidelines for businesses to reopen as normal. She has said shutdowns are “useless.” Restaurants never closed, but guests are asked to maintain social distancing. Hotels and home-sharing are open. Mount Rushmore is open. Keep in mind some Native American lands may be closed to outsiders due to coronavirus concerns.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 cases in South Dakota.

    For more information: Visit the South Dakota Tourism website or the South Dakota Department of Health coronavirus page.

    Tennessee

    Memphis April 2017. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Memphis, April 2017. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Tennessee’s stay-at-home order expired on April 30, 2020 and there are currently no travel restrictions in the state. Gov. Bill Lee has allowed restaurants to increase their capacity under updated guidelines, including enforcing social distancing, and bars and restaurants are open with restrictions depending on the county. Bars in Nashville are now allowed to increase guest capacity and stay open until 3 a.m. as of April 16, 2021. Hotels and home-sharing are open and allowed, but with new safety measures. Masks are recommended but not mandated statewide and Gov. Lee has left requirements up to individual counties. Great Smoky Mountains National Park, like all national parks, now requires masks outdoors when social distancing cannot be maintained.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 cases in Tennessee.

    For more information: Visit the Tennessee governor’s COVID-19 page and the Tennessee Tourism website.

    Texas

    (Photo by Cody Ash/Getty Images)
    (Photo by Cody Ash/Getty Images)

    Quarantine required: None

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Texas was the second state to surpass 2 million coronavirus cases — as of April 17, 2021, there have been more than 2.8 million confirmed cases and 49,000 deaths — but state officials did not institute new statewide restrictions to curb the spread. Gov. Greg Abbott did  issue a mask mandate on July 2, 2020, after cases began to rise in the state, however, mask usage had been more common in some parts of Texas than in others. Gov. Abbott ended the mandate and “opened Texas 100 percent” on March 2, 2021. He originally lifted travel restrictions for visitors to Texas on May 20, 2020.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 cases in Texas.

    For more information: Visit the state of Texas coronavirus information page and Travel Texas.

    Related: Is Texas open for travel?

    Utah

    (Photo by Justin Reznick Photography/Getty Images)
    The Watchman at Zion National Park. (Photo by Justin Reznick Photography/Getty Images)

    Quarantine required: None

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Cases in Utah have leveled off. The state entered state of emergency on Nov. 9, 2020, after then-Governor Gary Herbert acknowledged in a televised address that Utah had recorded thousands of new cases over the course of a week and hospitals were nearing capacity. Masks had been mandated statewide, both inside and outside, but current Governor Spencer J. Cox lifted the mandate on April 10, 2021 for all but K-12 schools and large gatherings of 50 or more people. However, counties and businesses can issue their own mask requirements. All counties in Utah are now experiencing either low or moderate levels of transmission.

    National Parks in Utah are open (with mask requirements in place) and state parks are open with social distancing required.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 cases in Utah.

    For more information: Visit the state of Utah’s COVID Travel Guidance site.

    Vermont

    Quarantine required: No, as of April 9, 2021

    Conditions: International travelers are asked to comply with the CDC’s travel guidance. You can find the up-to-date Vermont travel information here.

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: Unvaccinated travelers must receive a negative COVID-19 test taken within three days of travel to Vermont. Vaccinated travelers and those who have recovered from COVID-19 in the past three months are exempt from testing requirements.

    Important to know: Travelers are required to complete a Certificate of Compliance for all lodging and rental properties. All Vermonters and visitors are required to wear masks or cloth facial coverings over their nose and mouth in public spaces — indoors or outdoors. Even while wearing a mask, individuals should stay six feet apart from others not in their group. All out-of-state travelers are strongly encouraged to register with Sara Alert upon arrival in Vermont to get two weeks of daily reminders to check for common symptoms of COVID-19.

    Lodging properties are now operating at 100% capacity. Restaurants and bars have reopened, though at 50% capacity. Bar seating is now available. Reservations or call ahead seating may be required. Customers are encouraged to wear face coverings when not eating.

    Vermont’s state parks have opened for public use with mandatory health and safety guidelines in effect. Day use activity is being managed to ensure social distancing and amenities have been scaled back. State park campgrounds are limited to tent, RV and lean-to camping; a new web-based reservation system is available.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 cases in Vermont.

    For more information: Visit the Vermont Department of Tourism and Marketing’s website.

    Virgin Islands

    Caribbean, St Thomas US Virgin Islands. Panoramic view. (Image by sorincolac/iStock/Getty Images)
    St Thomas US Virgin Islands. (Photo by sorincolac/iStock/Getty Images)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: Since Sept. 19, 2020, every traveler age 5 or older who enters the U.S. Virgin Islands is required to submit to the U.S. Virgin Islands Travel Screening Portal a negative COVID-19 molecular PCR or rapid Antigen test result obtained within five days of commencement of travel to the Territory or a positive COVID-19 antibody test taken and received within four months of the travel date. Visitors must produce both the original test result and the travel certification from the portal upon arrival.

    Penalties for violation: According to the government website, travelers unable to produce a valid test result at the time of departure for the USVI will be denied boarding.

    Testing guidelines: COVID-19 molecular PCR or rapid Antigen test taken within five days of departure for the islands or a positive antibody test taken within four months of the travel date.

    Important to know: The U.S. Virgin Islands began welcoming back tourists on Sept. 19, 2020, but restrictions are still in place. Temperature checks and health screenings are being conducted at ports of entry. Hotels are open and guidelines are in place when traveling in taxis, limos and safaris. Restaurants and bars are limited to 75% capacity with all patrons seated. Masks must be worn when entering the country and at all businesses and attractions. Important to note: The new CDC requirement that all international air travelers entering the U.S. must present a negative viral COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of travel isn’t required to return the mainland U.S. from the U.S. Virgin Islands.

    For more information: Visit the U.S. Virgin Islands Travel Portal.

    Virginia

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: Details on travel guidance for the state can be found here.

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Per the Virginia Department of Health’s website, the state currently does not have any quarantine requirements for people arriving in the Commonwealth from other U.S. or international locations. However, masks are required for any person 10 years or older while inside public buildings and outside when social distancing isn’t possible.

    Cases had surged in Virginia between late November 2020 and late January 2021 and Gov. Ralph Northam announced a modified stay-at-home order, in effect Dec. 14, 2020 to Feb. 28, 2021. The included curfew was lifted as of March 1, 2021, and bars can now sell alcohol until 12 a.m. Restrictions were further loosened as of April 1, 2021.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Virginia.

    For more information: Visit the Virginia Department of Health website.

    Washington

    Seattle September 2019. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Seattle, September 2019. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No, but it is recommended for international travelers, per the CDC’s travel guidance

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Gov. Jay Inslee announced COVID-19 restrictions that went into effect on Nov. 16, 2020, and were extended through early January 2021. They have now been lifted and Gov. Inslee has introduced Healthy Washington, a new region-based reopening plan with every region in Phase 1 as of Jan. 11, 2021. Most regions were in Phase 3 as of April 17, 2021, with indoor dining now allowed at 50% capacity in restaurants and bars. Capacity is also 50% in most retail stores and entertainment venues. Details can be found here.

    The state now asks all visitors to comply with the CDC’s travel guidance. Gov. Inslee had joined his fellow governors in Oregon and California in issuing a Travel Advisory on Nov. 13, 2020, that urged all visitors entering these three states or returning home from outside these states to self-quarantine for 14 days. The advisory also urged the states’ residents to avoid non-essential travel and limit social interactions to members of their immediate households. That advisory was rescinded on March 19, 2021.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Washington.

    For more information: Visit the state of Washington’s COVID-19 information page and traveler information page.

    West Virginia

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Cases in the state spiked in late December 2020 and early January 2021, but have since leveled off. Gov. Jim Justice has maintained a statewide indoor face-covering requirement for all residents and visitors over age nine and everyone is encouraged to maintain a safe social distance when traveling the state.

    Restaurants and bars are now allowed to operate indoors at 100% capacity and indoor live music performances were permitted to resume as of March 25, 2021. All lodging providers including properties such as hotels, motels, rental properties, Airbnb/VRBO style lodging, and cabins are open with limited services and usages. Separate guidance has been issued for campgrounds. Travelers are encouraged to check the status of any upcoming reservation, special event and operations of individual businesses before embarking on their trip.

    All West Virginia welcome centers and rest areas remain open to travelers and continue to be maintained and cleaned, with their restrooms open.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in West Virginia.

    For more information: Visit the West Virginia Department of Health website or the West Virginia Tourism page.

    Wisconsin

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: Wisconsin, which saw a surge in cases in November and early December 2020 and has had more than 650,000 cases since the pandemic began, does not currently require visitors to quarantine. That said, the Wisconsin Department of Health Services’ website says:
    “COVID-19 is still spreading across our Wisconsin communities. Staying home is the best way to protect yourself and others from getting sick. We recommend Wisconsinites cancel or postpone all travel unless you are fully vaccinated.”

    Gov. Tony Evers signed an executive order requiring face coverings indoors and in enclosed spaces, with some exceptions. This order went into effect in August 2020 and had been extended into 2021— although the state Senate voted to repeal the mask mandate on Feb. 4, 2021. Gov. Evers immediately issued another order. However, regarding restaurant and bar capacities, which Gov. Evers had sought to continue limiting, the Wisconsin Supreme Court recently ruled against those efforts.

    As of April 17, 2021, most counties in the state still had High COVID-19 activity.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Wisconsin.

    For more information: Visit the Wisconsin Department of Health’s COVID-19 dashboard to see key metrics in specific regions of the state.

    Wyoming

    Yellowstone National Park September 2015. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)
    Yellowstone National Park, September 2015. (Photo by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy)

    Quarantine required: No

    Conditions: None

    Penalties for violation: None

    Testing guidelines: None

    Important to know: There are currently no travel restrictions in Wyoming and statewide mask mandate expired, but some towns and federal parks and lands require them and some businesses may also require them.

    Yellowstone National Park, Grand Teton National Park, Devils Tower National Monument, Fossil Butte National Monument and Fort Laramie National Historic Site are open with masks required and some limitations and closures. State parks are open to everyone for day use and overnight stays.

    Check the Johns Hopkins University website for updates on COVID-19 in Wyoming.

    For more information: Visit the Wyoming Office of Tourism’s website.

    Related: When will national parks reopen?

    Additional reporting by Ariana Arghandewal, Nick Ellis, Nick Ewen, Katherine Fan, Jordyn Fields, Jane Frye, Donna Heiderstadt, Summer Hull, Liz Hund, Brian Kim, Emily McNutt, Laura Motta, Andrea Rotondo, Gene Sloan and Benét J. Wilson. 

    Featured photo of Yellowstone by Clint Henderson/The Points Guy.

    Delta SkyMiles® Platinum American Express Card

    Earn 90,000 bonus miles and 10,000 Medallion® Qualification Miles (MQMs) after you spend $3,000 in purchases on your new card in the first three months of card membership. Offer ends 11/10/2021.

    With Status Boost™, earn 10,000 Medallion Qualification Miles (MQMs) after you spend $25,000 in purchases on your Card in a calendar year, up to two times per year getting you closer to Medallion Status. Earn 3X Miles on Delta purchases and purchases made directly with hotels, 2X Miles at restaurants and at U.S. supermarkets and earn 1X Mile on all other eligible purchases. Terms Apply.

    Apply Now
    More Things to Know
    • Limited Time Offer: Earn 90,000 Bonus Miles and 10,000 Medallion® Qualification Miles (MQMs) after you spend $3,000 in purchases on your new Card in your first 3 months. Offer expires 11/10/2021.
    • Earn up to 20,000 Medallion® Qualification Miles (MQMs) with Status Boost® per year. After you spend $25,000 in purchases on your Card in a calendar year, you can earn 10,000 MQMs two times per year, getting you closer to Medallion® Status. MQMs are used to determine Medallion® Status and are different than miles you earn toward flights.
    • Earn 3X Miles on Delta purchases and purchases made directly with hotels.
    • Earn 2X Miles at restaurants worldwide, including takeout and delivery and at U.S. supermarkets.
    • Earn 1X Miles on all other eligible purchases.
    • Receive a Domestic Main Cabin round-trip companion certificate each year upon renewal of your Card. *Payment of the government imposed taxes and fees of no more than $75 for roundtrip domestic flights (for itineraries with up to four flight segments) is required. Baggage charges and other restrictions apply. See terms and conditions for details.
    • Enjoy your first checked bag free on Delta flights.
    • Fee Credit for Global Entry or TSA Pre✓®.
    • Enjoy an exclusive rate of $39 per person per visit to enter the Delta Sky Club® for you and up to two guests when traveling on a Delta flight.
    • No Foreign Transaction Fees.
    • $250 Annual Fee.
    • Terms Apply.
    • See Rates & Fees
    Regular APR
    15.74%-24.74% Variable
    Annual Fee
    $250
    Balance Transfer Fee
    N/A
    Recommended Credit
    Excellent/Good
    Terms and restrictions apply. See rates & fees.

    Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

    Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.