Chicago institutes mandatory quarantine for some
This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.
There’s some major travel news coming out of Chicago late on July 2. In a tweet, Mayor Lori Lightfoot issued an emergency travel order announcing the city would impose a mandatory 14-day quarantine beginning Monday July 6 for anyone arriving from 15 states that are seeing spikes in the coronavirus outbreak.
For more travel tips and news, sign up for our daily newsletter
Anyone who has spent more than 24 hours in the following states are impacted: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Utah.
Florida, as an example, reported more than 10,000 cases on July 2 alone.
The rule doesn’t apply to people transiting through Chicago or its airports.
Anyone found in violation of the new order will face fines of $100-$500 per day, up to $7,000. It is not yet clear how the order will be enforced, but New York state has asked police to check drivers with out-of-state license plates, perform random checks of visitors arriving by air, and has set up a hotline for residents to report offenders. New York is imposing fines of up to $10,000.
The city of Chicago says those coming from the most-impacted states must stay put — in their home, hotel, or rental — for 14 days before doing any outside activities.
The rule comes as the United States hits another daily record for COVID-19 cases, recording more than 50,000 cases in a single day.
Related: State-by-state guide to reopening
Connecticut and New Jersey agreed to the quarantine rules at the same time as New York, but are relying on the honor system for enforcement.
As The Points Guy has been reporting, a strict 14-day quarantine in Hawaii is set to be lifted on August 1, but only for those who’ve had a PCR COVID-19 test within 72 hours of their arrival in Hawaii. You must take an FDA-approved PCR test from a certified laboratory before arrival, and no testing will be done at the airport. That’s if you can find a testing site that will deliver results that quickly. As we recently reported, that’s no easy task.
Alaska visitors are required to self-quarantine for 14 days or to show proof of a negative test upon arrival in Alaska. Unlike Hawaii, they are offering testing on arrival. Visitors who are tested on arrival must quarantine until the test results are known. If they test positive they must isolate until they are well at their own expense.
And if you missed it, here’s our country-by-country guide to reopenings.
Additional resources for traveling during the coronavirus outbreak:
- How coronavirus is impacting airline award availability
- How coronavirus has left the travel industry reeling
- Airlines scale back inflight offerings due to coronavirus
- How to ward off coronavirus in your hotel room
- Guide to traveling during the coronavirus outbreak
- Extreme measures cruise lines are taking during coronavirus
Welcome to The Points Guy!
WELCOME OFFER: 80,000 Points
TPG'S BONUS VALUATION*: $1,600
CARD HIGHLIGHTS: 2X points on all travel and dining, points transferrable to over a dozen travel partners
*Bonus value is an estimated value calculated by TPG and not the card issuer. View our latest valuations here.
- Earn 80,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. That's $1,000 toward travel when you redeem through Chase Ultimate Rewards®.
- 2X points on travel and dining at restaurants worldwide, eligible delivery services, takeout and dining out & 1 point per dollar spent on all other purchases.
- Get 25% more value when you redeem for airfare, hotels, car rentals and cruises through Chase Ultimate Rewards. For example, 80,000 points are worth $1,000 toward travel.
- Get unlimited deliveries with a $0 delivery fee and reduced service fees on orders over $12 for a minimum of one year on qualifying food purchases with DashPass, DoorDash's subscription service. Activate by 12/31/21.
- Earn 5X points on Lyft rides through March 2022. That’s 3X points in addition to the 2X points you already earn on travel.