Breaking: US Supreme Court Upholds President Trump’s Travel Ban

Jun 26, 2018

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

The US Supreme Court decided Tuesday to uphold President Donald Trump’s controversial travel ban.

The Court’s ruled with a 5-4 vote on the third version of the ban, which was rolled out in its entirety in the fall of 2017 and prohibits entry into the US by most travelers from a total of eight countries, six of which are majority Muslim.

The Trump administration had argued to the Court’s justices that the travel ban was not a so-called Muslim ban, and that it is within the rights of the president to set travel restrictions for the nation.

Chief Justice John Roberts, joined by the Court’s four other conservative justices, wrote the majority opinion, which rejected the idea that the ban was targeting Muslim travelers and noted that the president has significant power to regulate immigration. Roberts was sure to note the majority justices “express no view on the soundness of the policy.”

Writing for the dissent was Justice Sonya Sotomayor, joined by Justices Stephen Breyer, Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Elena Kagan.

“A reasonable observer would conclude that the Proclamation was motivated by anti-Muslim animus,” Sotomayor wrote, adding that her conservative counterparts arrived at their ruling by “ignoring the facts, misconstruing our legal precedent, and turning a blind eye to the pain and suffering the Proclamation inflicts upon countless families and individuals, many of whom are United States citizens.”

The first version of the travel ban was implemented as an executive order by President Trump in January 2017. After being blocked in February 2017 by a federal judge in Seattle, the ban was revised several times. The version of the travel ban that was ruled upon by the Court on Tuesday was released in June 2017 and bars citizens of six Muslim-majority countries (Iran, Syria, Libya, Somalia, Yemen and Sudan) from entering the US unless they had a “bona fide” relationship with a person or entity in America. In September 2017, the administration also added new travel restrictions to Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen that were slowly phased in until December 2017.

Earlier this spring, Trump removed one country from the travel ban list — the African nation of Chad. Trump signed a proclamation saying that Chad had “improved its identity-management and information sharing practices,” and would be removed from the travel ban.

Supreme Court watchers noted in April that the justices seemed to favor upholding the ban after hearing arguments for the first time, with the Court’s conservative justices, who outnumber their liberal colleagues, alluding to the fact that they were against repealing the ban.

This is a developing story and will be updated as more information becomes available.

H/T: Associated Press

*This post has been updated with details from both the Court’s majority and dissenting opinions.

Delta SkyMiles® Platinum American Express Card

Earn 90,000 bonus miles and 10,000 Medallion® Qualification Miles (MQMs) after you spend $3,000 in purchases on your new card in the first three months of card membership. Offer ends 11/10/2021.

With Status Boost™, earn 10,000 Medallion Qualification Miles (MQMs) after you spend $25,000 in purchases on your Card in a calendar year, up to two times per year getting you closer to Medallion Status. Earn 3X Miles on Delta purchases and purchases made directly with hotels, 2X Miles at restaurants and at U.S. supermarkets and earn 1X Mile on all other eligible purchases. Terms Apply.

Apply Now
More Things to Know
  • Limited Time Offer: Earn 90,000 Bonus Miles and 10,000 Medallion® Qualification Miles (MQMs) after you spend $3,000 in purchases on your new Card in your first 3 months. Offer expires 11/10/2021.
  • Earn up to 20,000 Medallion® Qualification Miles (MQMs) with Status Boost® per year. After you spend $25,000 in purchases on your Card in a calendar year, you can earn 10,000 MQMs two times per year, getting you closer to Medallion® Status. MQMs are used to determine Medallion® Status and are different than miles you earn toward flights.
  • Earn 3X Miles on Delta purchases and purchases made directly with hotels.
  • Earn 2X Miles at restaurants worldwide, including takeout and delivery and at U.S. supermarkets.
  • Earn 1X Miles on all other eligible purchases.
  • Receive a Domestic Main Cabin round-trip companion certificate each year upon renewal of your Card. *Payment of the government imposed taxes and fees of no more than $75 for roundtrip domestic flights (for itineraries with up to four flight segments) is required. Baggage charges and other restrictions apply. See terms and conditions for details.
  • Enjoy your first checked bag free on Delta flights.
  • Fee Credit for Global Entry or TSA Pre✓®.
  • Enjoy an exclusive rate of $39 per person per visit to enter the Delta Sky Club® for you and up to two guests when traveling on a Delta flight.
  • No Foreign Transaction Fees.
  • $250 Annual Fee.
  • Terms Apply.
  • See Rates & Fees
Regular APR
15.74%-24.74% Variable
Annual Fee
Balance Transfer Fee
Recommended Credit
Terms and restrictions apply. See rates & fees.

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.