President Trump Signs Revised Travel Ban, Exempting Iraq

Mar 6, 2017

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

Late this morning, President Trump signed a revised version of his travel ban, which was originally blocked by a federal court in February. The new travel ban, which will take effect on March 16, names six countries, omitting Iraq reportedly because the country is increasing cooperation with US security vetting measures. Like its predecessor, the revised travel ban will suspend the refugee program for 120 days and limit immigration from the six countries — Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen — for the next 90 days. Citizens from the six countries who are outside of the US and don’t have a visa will not be able to travel to the US for 90 days.

This revised version, which President Trump signed out of public view, includes other exemptions such as:

  • Any dual national from one of the aforementioned six nations when the individual is traveling on a passport issued by a non-designated country
  • Lawful permanent residents of the US (green card holders)
  • Those who have been granted asylum or refugee status

In addition, the revised executive order details that the refugee program will no longer single out Syrian refugees — they will be treated the same way as refugees from other nations. The new refugee program will not accept more than 50,000 refugees per year, and does not go into effect until after the 120-day suspension. The 50,000 refugee cap is down from the 110,000 number set by the Obama administration.

According to the Washington Post, anyone who has a visa should be able to get into the country without problem, but when their visa expires, they will have to reapply.

To recap: The major changes in this revised executive order — compared to the prior one — is that there are 10 days of advance notice and the plan excludes Iraq from the ban list. In addition, the new travel ban will suspend the visa process for citizens of the six aforementioned countries for 90 days as the administration analyzes how to enhance vetting procedures.

Read prior posts about the travel ban:

The Trump Travel Ban — New Rules For Immigrants, Refugees and US Citizens
Are Green Card Holders Exempt From the Trump Travel Ban?
Travel Industry Reacts to President Trump’s Immigration Ban
Immigrant Travel Ban Remains Blocked Following Appeals Court Ruling
Airlines Waiving Change Fees For Passengers Affected by the Trump Travel Ban
Homeland Security Halts Enforcement of Immigrant Travel Ban Following Judge’s Order

Featured image courtesy of Jeff Greenberg via Getty Images.

Delta SkyMiles® Platinum American Express Card

Earn 90,000 bonus miles and 10,000 Medallion® Qualification Miles (MQMs) after you spend $3,000 in purchases on your new card in the first three months of card membership. Offer ends 11/10/2021.

With Status Boost™, earn 10,000 Medallion Qualification Miles (MQMs) after you spend $25,000 in purchases on your Card in a calendar year, up to two times per year getting you closer to Medallion Status. Earn 3X Miles on Delta purchases and purchases made directly with hotels, 2X Miles at restaurants and at U.S. supermarkets and earn 1X Mile on all other eligible purchases. Terms Apply.

Apply Now
More Things to Know
  • Limited Time Offer: Earn 90,000 Bonus Miles and 10,000 Medallion® Qualification Miles (MQMs) after you spend $3,000 in purchases on your new Card in your first 3 months. Offer expires 11/10/2021.
  • Earn up to 20,000 Medallion® Qualification Miles (MQMs) with Status Boost® per year. After you spend $25,000 in purchases on your Card in a calendar year, you can earn 10,000 MQMs two times per year, getting you closer to Medallion® Status. MQMs are used to determine Medallion® Status and are different than miles you earn toward flights.
  • Earn 3X Miles on Delta purchases and purchases made directly with hotels.
  • Earn 2X Miles at restaurants worldwide, including takeout and delivery and at U.S. supermarkets.
  • Earn 1X Miles on all other eligible purchases.
  • Receive a Domestic Main Cabin round-trip companion certificate each year upon renewal of your Card. *Payment of the government imposed taxes and fees of no more than $75 for roundtrip domestic flights (for itineraries with up to four flight segments) is required. Baggage charges and other restrictions apply. See terms and conditions for details.
  • Enjoy your first checked bag free on Delta flights.
  • Fee Credit for Global Entry or TSA Pre✓®.
  • Enjoy an exclusive rate of $39 per person per visit to enter the Delta Sky Club® for you and up to two guests when traveling on a Delta flight.
  • No Foreign Transaction Fees.
  • $250 Annual Fee.
  • Terms Apply.
  • See Rates & Fees
Regular APR
15.74%-24.74% Variable
Annual Fee
Balance Transfer Fee
Recommended Credit
Terms and restrictions apply. See rates & fees.

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.