Homeland Security Halts Enforcement of Immigrant Travel Ban Following Judge’s Order

Feb 4, 2017

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

Last night, a federal judge in Seattle issued an order temporarily blocking the travel ban instituted last Friday by President Donald Trump. As a result, the Department of Homeland Security has stopped enforcement of the President’s executive order and is instructing airlines to allow travelers with proper documentation to board planes heading for the United States.

In addition, the State Department has reversed the cancellation of visas that had previously been issued to nationals of the seven countries covered by the order.

The President’s original executive order banned all refugees from Syria from entering the US indefinitely and closed the border to refugees from all other countries for 120 days. It also halted immigrants from seven countries — Libya, Iran, Iraq, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen — from entering the US for 90 days.

While it originally appeared that green card holders were also covered by the travel ban, the order was later clarified to allow those permanent residents to enter, albeit with the potential to be subject to additional security screenings.

The judicial order issued by Judge James Robart of Federal District Court in Seattle is temporary, meaning it remains in place only until a full argument can be heard from both sides in court. Meanwhile, the US Customs and Border Protection agency has informed airlines that it is “back to business as usual.” As such, revised travel advisories have begun appearing on airline websites, such as this one from Lufthansa, which states

“The United States federal court has blocked the travel ban to the USA with immediate effect. Visitors with a passport issued by 7 countries — Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen — and holding a valid immigrant or non-immigrant visa for the US are again allowed to travel to the USA. However, short notice changes to the immigration regulations may occur at any time. The final decision regarding immigration lies with the US authorities.”

The White House has already announced its intent to file an emergency appeal of the judge’s order which, if successful, could allow the travel ban to be reimplemented.

Featured image courtesy of Getty Images.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

WELCOME OFFER: 80,000 Points


CARD HIGHLIGHTS: 2X points on all travel and dining, points transferrable to over a dozen travel partners

*Bonus value is an estimated value calculated by TPG and not the card issuer. View our latest valuations here.

Apply Now
More Things to Know
  • Earn 80,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. That's $1,000 when you redeem through Chase Ultimate Rewards®. Plus earn up to $50 in statement credits towards grocery store purchases within your first year of account opening.
  • Earn 2X points on dining including eligible delivery services, takeout and dining out and travel. Plus, earn 1 point per dollar spent on all other purchases.
  • Get 25% more value when you redeem for airfare, hotels, car rentals and cruises through Chase Ultimate Rewards®. For example, 80,000 points are worth $1,000 toward travel.
  • With Pay Yourself Back℠, your points are worth 25% more during the current offer when you redeem them for statement credits against existing purchases in select, rotating categories.
  • Get unlimited deliveries with a $0 delivery fee and reduced service fees on eligible orders over $12 for a minimum of one year with DashPass, DoorDash's subscription service. Activate by 12/31/21.
  • Count on Trip Cancellation/Interruption Insurance, Auto Rental Collision Damage Waiver, Lost Luggage Insurance and more.
  • Get up to $60 back on an eligible Peloton Digital or All-Access Membership through 12/31/2021, and get full access to their workout library through the Peloton app, including cardio, running, strength, yoga, and more. Take classes using a phone, tablet, or TV. No fitness equipment is required.
Regular APR
15.99%-22.99% Variable
Annual Fee
Balance Transfer Fee
Either $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Recommended Credit

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.