Skip to content

Chad Has Been Removed From the Travel Ban List

April 11, 2018
2 min read
Department of Homeland Security
Chad Has Been Removed From the Travel Ban List
This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

The Trump Administration said Tuesday that one country, the African nation of Chad, has been removed from the US travel ban list. The removal from the list means that Chadian citizens are now eligible to receive passport visas to visit the US.

According to US officials, Chad was originally placed under the ban because the country was unable to provide terrorism and safety information used to screen foreign citizens entering the US, and it was also unable to provide recent samples of its passport to the Department of Homeland Security due to an office glitch.

The White House said that President Trump signed a document on Tuesday saying because Chad had “improved its identity-management and information sharing practices,” it would be taken off the travel ban list. The State Department said the travel restrictions on the country would be lifted Friday.

"Chad is a critical and vital partner to the US counterterrorism mission," State Department Spokeswoman Heather Nauert said in a statement. "Chad has made significant strides and now meets the baseline criteria established in the Presidential Proclamation."

The statement went on to say that the US government welcomed the improvements from Chad, and the security changes represent "a clear off-ramp for countries placed on the travel restriction list."

The travel ban was first implemented as an executive order by President Trump in January 2017. After being blocked in February by a federal judge in Seattle, the ban was revised several times. The latest version of the travel ban was released in June 2017 and prohibited foreign citizens of six Muslim-majority countries (Iran, Syria, Libya, Somalia, Yemen and Sudan) from entering the US unless they had a "bona fide" relationship with a person or entity in America.

Sign up for our daily newsletter

In September 2017, the administration also added new travel restrictions to Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen that were slowly phased in until December 2017, after the ban was upheld by the Supreme Court.

H/T: Associated Press

Featured image by Getty Images

Top offers from our partners

How we chose these cards

Our points-obsessed staff uses a plethora of credit cards on a daily basis. If anyone on our team wouldn’t recommend it to a friend or a family member, we wouldn’t recommend it on The Points Guy either. Our opinions are our own, and have not been reviewed, approved, or endorsed by our advertising partners.
See all best card offers