Travelers from 38 US states are allowed to visit Malta starting June 17

Jun 16, 2021

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

Malta is set to reopen to most U.S. travelers on June 17, following the addition of 38 states, Washington D.C. and Puerto Rico to the country’s “amber” list.

“Malta looks forward to welcoming back Americans, one of our strongest inbound markets,” Johann Buttigieg, chief executive officer of the Malta Tourism Authority, said in a statement issued by the country’s superintendent of public health on Wednesday.

Get the latest travel news by signing up for TPG’s free daily newsletter.

Malta has added 38 U.S. states, Washington D.C. and Puerto Rico to its “amber” travel list. (Photo by Barry Winiker/Getty Images)

Like many nations that have begun to open their borders to foreigners, Malta is using a color-coded system that allows visitors from certain countries to enter, with conditions, depending on their color designation.

Travelers from countries — or, in this case, states — on the amber list can visit after providing proof of a negative PCR test taken within 72 hours of travel or proof from a healthcare provider that they recovered from COVID-19 within the past 90 days. (Documentation is checked at your departure airport in the U.S. before you’re allowed to board your flight.)

Visitors from states on the amber list can now enter Malta with negative PCR test results; quarantining is no longer necessary. (Photo by Magdalena Smolnicka/Unsplash)

The following states, along with Washington D.C. and Puerto Rico, are currently on the amber list:

Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennesse, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

The other 12 states — Alabama, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, Oklahoma, Utah and Wyoming — remain under Malta’s “red” designation.

Visitors from red states would have to quarantine for 14 days in a safe corridor country, such as Turkey, Greece or Croatia, before being allowed to enter Malta. They also must show proof of a negative PCR test taken within 72 hours or a doctor’s note certifying they had the virus within the last 90 days.

For more information, check out the Visit Malta website.

Featured photo courtesy of Cugó Gran Macina Grand Harbour.

Delta SkyMiles® Platinum American Express Card

Earn 90,000 bonus miles after you spend $3,000 in purchases within the first three months of card membership. Plus, earn a $200 statement credit after your first Delta purchase within the first three months. Offer ends 7/28/21.

With Status Boost™, earn 10,000 Medallion Qualification Miles (MQMs) after you spend $25,000 in purchases on your Card in a calendar year, up to two times per year getting you closer to Medallion Status. Earn 3X Miles on Delta purchases and purchases made directly with hotels, 2X Miles at restaurants and at U.S. supermarkets and earn 1X Mile on all other eligible purchases. Terms Apply.

Apply Now
More Things to Know
  • Limited Time Offer: Earn 90,000 Bonus Miles after spending $3,000 in purchases on your new Card in your first 3 months and a $200 statement credit after you make a Delta purchase with your new Card within your first 3 months. Offer expires 7/28/2021.
  • Limited Time Offer: Plus, get a 0% intro APR on purchases for 12 months from the date of account opening, then a variable 15.74%-24.74%. Offer expires 7/28/2021.
  • Accelerate your path to Medallion Status, with Status Boost®. Plus, in 2021 you can earn even more bonus Medallion® Qualification Miles (MQMs) to help you reach Medallion Status.
  • Earn 3X Miles on Delta purchases and purchases made directly with hotels.
  • Earn 2X Miles at restaurants worldwide, including takeout and delivery and at U.S. supermarkets.
  • Receive a Domestic Main Cabin round-trip companion certificate each year upon renewal of your Card. *Payment of the government imposed taxes and fees of no more than $75 for roundtrip domestic flights (for itineraries with up to four flight segments) is required. Baggage charges and other restrictions apply. See terms and conditions for details.
  • Enjoy your first checked bag free on Delta flights.
  • Fee Credit for Global Entry or TSA Pre✓®.
  • Enjoy an exclusive rate of $39 per person per visit to enter the Delta Sky Club® for you and up to two guests when traveling on a Delta flight.
  • No Foreign Transaction Fees.
  • $250 Annual Fee.
  • Terms Apply.
  • See Rates & Fees
Intro APR on Purchases
0% on purchases for 12 months
Regular APR
15.74%-24.74% Variable
Annual Fee
Balance Transfer Fee
Recommended Credit
Terms and restrictions apply. See rates & fees.

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.