Uber Might Be Getting Kicked Out of Massachusetts
This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.
Uber’s license to operate in Massachusetts is under review after the ride-sharing company charged customers surge pricing during a state of emergency declared for a nor’easter blizzard in the state earlier in 2018.
During the early March snowstorm, Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker declared a state of emergency. As part of those measures, the state’s Department of Public Utilities, which oversees ride-sharing operations, sent notices to all ride-sharing companies alerting them to suspend surge pricing during the storm.
Uber allegedly charged passengers surge pricing anyway. If the ride-sharing company is found to have violated the regulation, its license to operate in the state could be revoked, and it could be charged fines based on its revenue from the storm.
“The intent was to avoid circumstances where companies would be jacking up prices during a state of emergency,” Massachusetts State Rep. Aaron Michlewitz, who wrote the original bill, told The Boston Herald. “The intent of the legislation was to avoid any company taking advantage of the consumer during a state of emergency.”
Now the state’s Department of Public Utilities is demanding Uber’s data on its fares from just before and during the nor’easter, as well as its revenue and amount of riders it had during the storm.
Uber disputes the accusations, saying its surge pricing did not violate the state law. According to Uber, the law only precludes them from raising the base rate during a state of emergency. This is a different type of surge pricing charge than how Uber calculates its surge, the company claims.
TPG reached out to Uber for comment, but did not hear back by time of publication. The ride-sharing company did, however, tell The Boston Herald that it was “confident” it complied with the law during the state of emergency. “Our team was in communication with the DPU during the state of emergency,” an Uber spokesperson told the Herald. “We look forward to working with regulators on a quick resolution.”
Thursday is Uber’s deadline to respond to the Massachusetts state government’s request.
Featured image by Leon Neal / Getty Images.
Welcome to The Points Guy!
WELCOME OFFER: 80,000 Points
TPG'S BONUS VALUATION*: $1,650
CARD HIGHLIGHTS: 2X points on all travel and dining, points transferrable to over a dozen travel partners
*Bonus value is an estimated value calculated by TPG and not the card issuer. View our latest valuations here.
- Earn 80,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. That's $1,000 when you redeem through Chase Ultimate Rewards®. Plus earn up to $50 in statement credits towards grocery store purchases within your first year of account opening.
- Earn 2X points on dining including eligible delivery services, takeout and dining out and travel. Plus, earn 1 point per dollar spent on all other purchases.
- Get 25% more value when you redeem for airfare, hotels, car rentals and cruises through Chase Ultimate Rewards®. For example, 80,000 points are worth $1,000 toward travel.
- With Pay Yourself Back℠, your points are worth 25% more during the current offer when you redeem them for statement credits against existing purchases in select, rotating categories.
- Get unlimited deliveries with a $0 delivery fee and reduced service fees on eligible orders over $12 for a minimum of one year with DashPass, DoorDash's subscription service. Activate by 12/31/21.
- Count on Trip Cancellation/Interruption Insurance, Auto Rental Collision Damage Waiver, Lost Luggage Insurance and more.
- Get up to $60 back on an eligible Peloton Digital or All-Access Membership through 12/31/2021, and get full access to their workout library through the Peloton app, including cardio, running, strength, yoga, and more. Take classes using a phone, tablet, or TV. No fitness equipment is required.