These 4 Deadly 2017 Hurricane Names Will be Retired

Apr 12, 2018

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

Au revoir, Harvey, Irma, Maria and Nate. Bonjour, Harold, Idallia, Margot and Nigel.

A committee from the World Meteorological Organization announced Thursday that it is retiring the names of four Atlantic hurricanes from 2017. Because of the massive destruction and death caused by these hurricanes, Harvey, Irma, Maria and Nate will never be included in the rotation for Atlantic hurricanes again. They will be replaced with Harold, Idallia, Margot and Nigel.

Typically, the list of names for hurricanes and tropical storms rotates every six years. This is the fifth time that four hurricane names have been retired from the list in one year — the most retirees for a single year was during 2005 when an unusual amount of Atlantic storms caused widespread damage and destruction; those retired in 2005 were Dennis, Katrina, Rita, Stan and Wilma. Since 1963, when WMO started naming Atlantic hurricanes, 86 names have been retired from the list.

Maria and Nate were both used three times during their rotations; Irma was used twice for Atlantic storms; Harvey has been used six times since 1981.

As far as the 2018 hurricane season goes, meteorologists are predicting an even busier season with 14 named storms: seven are expected to become hurricanes and three are expected to be major hurricanes.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

WELCOME OFFER: 80,000 Points


CARD HIGHLIGHTS: 3X points on dining and 2x points on travel, points transferrable to over a dozen travel partners

*Bonus value is an estimated value calculated by TPG and not the card issuer. View our latest valuations here.

Apply Now
More Things to Know
  • Earn 80,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. That's $1,000 when you redeem through Chase Ultimate Rewards®.
  • Enjoy benefits such as a $50 annual Ultimate Rewards Hotel Credit, 5x on travel purchased through Chase Ultimate Rewards®, 3x on dining and 2x on all other travel purchases, plus more.
  • Get 25% more value when you redeem for airfare, hotels, car rentals and cruises through Chase Ultimate Rewards®. For example, 80,000 points are worth $1,000 toward travel.
  • With Pay Yourself Back℠, your points are worth 25% more during the current offer when you redeem them for statement credits against existing purchases in select, rotating categories
  • Count on Trip Cancellation/Interruption Insurance, Auto Rental Collision Damage Waiver, Lost Luggage Insurance and more.
Regular APR
16.24% - 23.24% Variable
Annual Fee
Balance Transfer Fee
Either $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Recommended Credit

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.