Travelers from California and Hawaii can now enter New York without having to quarantine

Sep 15, 2020

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

Editor’s note: This post has been updated to reflect new information, and was first published on June 24, 2020.

Good news: Some states are officially off of New York’s naughty list.

Governor Andrew Cuomo’s weekly COVID-19 update eliminated California, Hawaii, Maryland, Minnesota, Nevada, Northern Mariana Islands, and Ohio from the list of U.S. territories where incoming travelers must undergo a 14-day mandatory quarantine when entering the Empire State. Neighboring New Jersey and Connecticut have similar restrictions in place.

New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio has also set up checkpoints at tunnels and bridges leading into the city in order to enforce the quarantine regulation. Violators will be fined up to $10,000.

In June 2020, New York, New Jersey and Connecticut declared a mandatory 14-day quarantine for travelers entering from regions with heightened rates of COVID-19 cases. The CDC has since removed its recommendations for travelers to self-quarantine for 14 days after returning from travel, and instead advises travelers to follow the guidance of the states or cities they’re traveling to.

Sign up for TPG’s daily newsletter to stay informed on travel news

“We now have to make sure that the [COVID-19 infection] rate continues to drop,” New York Governor Andrew Cuomo said in a June 24 Facebook live announcement alongside Governors Philip Murphy of New Jersey and Ned Lamont of Connecticut. “We also need to make sure the virus doesn’t come in on a plane.”

Related: A state-by-state guide to reopening

The travel advisory went into effect at midnight Thursday, June 25, and applies to anyone arriving from a state with a 10 percent or higher infection rate increase over a seven-day rolling average.

Puerto Rico, which has been on New York’s restricted list before, successfully dropped its infection rate below the limit and was removed in on Sept. 8, but has been re-added to the quarantine list as of Sept. 15.

As of Sept. 15, the 30 total states and territories on New York’s restricted list for mandatory quarantine include:

  1. Alaska
  2. Alabama
  3. Arkansas
  4. Delaware
  5. Florida
  6. Georgia
  7. Guam
  8. Iowa
  9. Idaho
  10. Illinois
  11. Indiana
  12. Kansas
  13. Kentucky
  14. Louisiana
  15. Missouri
  16. Mississippi
  17. Montana
  18. North Carolina
  19. North Dakota
  20. Nebraska
  21. Oklahoma
  22. Puerto Rico
  23. South Carolina
  24. South Dakota
  25. Tennessee
  26. Texas
  27. Utah
  28. Virginia
  29. Wisconsin
  30. West Virginia

You can use this website to check for up-to-date information.

The New York quarantine measure is designed to curb the second wave of coronavirus infections, which spiked sharply after a number of states reopened their economies. As the situation develops, more regions may be added to the quarantine list.

Related: Las Vegas reopened with major changes

Cuomo stated in mid-June that New York now has “The virus under control — but Florida doesn’t, Texas doesn’t, these other states don’t. And what happens if they get on a plane and they come to JFK? So, we get the infection rate down and then because other states are high, we could have a problem.”

New York state has asked police to check drivers with out-of-state license plates, perform random checks of visitors arriving by air, and has set up a hotline for residents to report offenders. New York is imposing fines of up to $10,000.

Related: Dreaming of a sandy beach? These Caribbean countries are open to U.S. tourists

As of Sept. 15, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has tallied more than 6.5 million cases and 194,092 U.S. deaths due to COVID-19 — an increase of more than four million cases since the quarantine was levied in late June.

“This [mandatory quarantine] is a smart thing to do,” New Jersey Governor Murphy said in late June, referencing the “hell and back” that residents of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut had experienced over the past three months due to the coronavirus pandemic. “The last thing we need to is subject our folks to another round [of infection].”

New York, New Jersey and Connecticut’s current quarantine restrictions aren’t the first to be levied upon U.S. travelers. A handful of states and cities including Hawaii and Chicago have implemented mandatory quarantines during this pandemic. Meanwhile, Americans have been banned from entering a number of reopening foreign countries including Iceland, Germany and the European Union.

Related: A country-by-country guide to reopening

In August, the State Department revoked its Level 4: Do Not Travel advisory— the highest level of risk warning. Instead, travelers are now encouraged to look at individual country ratings for travel guidance.

Featured photo by Shutterstock.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

WELCOME OFFER: 80,000 Points


CARD HIGHLIGHTS: 2X points on all travel and dining, points transferrable to over a dozen travel partners

*Bonus value is an estimated value calculated by TPG and not the card issuer. View our latest valuations here.

Apply Now
More Things to Know
  • Earn 80,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. That's $1,000 toward travel when you redeem through Chase Ultimate Rewards®.
  • 2X points on travel and dining at restaurants worldwide, eligible delivery services, takeout and dining out & 1 point per dollar spent on all other purchases.
  • Get 25% more value when you redeem for airfare, hotels, car rentals and cruises through Chase Ultimate Rewards. For example, 80,000 points are worth $1,000 toward travel.
  • Get unlimited deliveries with a $0 delivery fee and reduced service fees on orders over $12 for a minimum of one year on qualifying food purchases with DashPass, DoorDash's subscription service. Activate by 12/31/21.
  • Earn 5X points on Lyft rides through March 2022. That’s 3X points in addition to the 2X points you already earn on travel.
Intro APR on Purchases
Regular APR
15.99%-22.99% Variable
Annual Fee
Balance Transfer Fee
Either $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Recommended Credit

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.