Skip to content

London Gatwick Airport Closed Yet Again Following 'Suspected Drone Sighting'

Dec. 21, 2018
1 min read
London Gatwick Airport Closed Yet Again Following 'Suspected Drone Sighting'
This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

Update 12/21/2018 2:10pm ET: At 6:31pm London time (1:31pm ET), LGW tweeted that flights had resumed.


Just hours after reopening its runway and operations, London's Gatwick Airport (LGW) has shut down yet again following a "suspected drone sighting."

According to a Gatwick spokesperson, operations at LGW, Britain's second largest airport, have been "temporarily suspended," according to the BBC. The sighting occurred at about 5:10pm London time (12:10pm ET).

Sign up for our daily newsletter

"We are just hearing a report of another drone sighting that we are investigating," the spokesperson said. "As we look into it we have taken the precaution of suspending flights."

The Ministry of Defence has not confirmed the sighting, but Sussex Police are investigating.

It's the third time the airport has been closed since Wednesday, when the first drone sighting was reported.

Flights that were supposed to land at LGW's single runway have been circling the area. The flights will likely be diverted to surrounding airports.

It remains unclear how long LGW operations will be suspended following this latest drone sighting.

Featured image by Getty Images