The TSA Still Doesn’t Think District of Columbia Driver Licenses are Valid

Dec 24, 2017

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

In an open letter to the Transportation Security Administration (caution: PDF link) this week, DC Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton had to remind the TSA that “District of Columbia” IDs are valid.

That’s right, it’s still a “chronic problem faced by air travelers from the District of Columbia” to be turned away at airport security by TSA officers who won’t accept IDs from our nation’s capital.

Again over the Thanksgiving holiday, a DC resident was prevented from clearing security in Newark (EWR) when a TSA officer refused to accept a District of Columbia driver’s license as a “valid form of ID.” Thankfully other officers were eventually able to intervene, but the DC resident nearly missed her flight as a result.

Part of the problem dates back to 2013 when the District of Columbia changed the name on the federal district’s identification cards from “Washington D.C.” to “District of Columbia.” As Rep. Norton explains, this was “updated to comply with REAL ID.”

While that would understandably cause confusion with existing TSA officers when it was first rolled out, the problem has perplexingly persisted years after the changes were made.

Rep. Norton slams the TSA for not doing more to train officers on this problem, pointing out how it’s “humiliating for a US citizen to be delayed because a federal government employee does not recognize the name of the District of Columbia.” She calls for TSA Administrator David Pekoske to “like your predecessors, take action to ensure that all D.C. licenses and IDs in circulation” are recognized and accepted by TSA officers.

While the District of Columbia is REAL ID compliant, there are many states whose driver’s licenses still aren’t compliant:

Yellow states have received yet another an extension until October 10, 2018 to fix the issue. However, three states (New York, Michigan, Louisiana) are still under review. If the state officials aren’t successful in getting an extension, IDs from these states won’t be accepted by TSA officers beginning January 22, 2018:

H/T: Washington Post

Featured image by Joe Raedle/Getty Images.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

WELCOME OFFER: 80,000 Points


CARD HIGHLIGHTS: 3X points on dining and 2x points on travel, points transferrable to over a dozen travel partners

*Bonus value is an estimated value calculated by TPG and not the card issuer. View our latest valuations here.

Apply Now
More Things to Know
  • Earn 80,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. That's $1,000 when you redeem through Chase Ultimate Rewards®.
  • Enjoy benefits such as a $50 annual Ultimate Rewards Hotel Credit, 5x on travel purchased through Chase Ultimate Rewards®, 3x on dining and 2x on all other travel purchases, plus more.
  • Get 25% more value when you redeem for airfare, hotels, car rentals and cruises through Chase Ultimate Rewards®. For example, 80,000 points are worth $1,000 toward travel.
  • With Pay Yourself Back℠, your points are worth 25% more during the current offer when you redeem them for statement credits against existing purchases in select, rotating categories
  • Count on Trip Cancellation/Interruption Insurance, Auto Rental Collision Damage Waiver, Lost Luggage Insurance and more.
Regular APR
16.24% - 23.24% Variable
Annual Fee
Balance Transfer Fee
Either $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Recommended Credit

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.