This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

Update 5:55pm EST: Atlanta’s ground stop is extended again to at least 7:00pm EST (00:00 Zulu) and the FAA has advised that “further extensions are highly likely.”


Update 5:15pm EST: The ground stop in Atlanta has now been extended again to at least 6:00pm EST (23:00 Zulu).


Update 4:45pm EST: The FAA has extended the ground stop again to at least 5:30pm EST (22:30 Zulu). However, according to CNN’s Jon Ostrower, Southwest Airlines has officially canceled all operations at Atlanta airport for the rest of the day on Sunday. Southwest is the second largest carrier in Atlanta.

Meanwhile, rumors have circulated that the power outage is the result of a construction crew cutting a power line, but the official Twitter account of Atlanta International Airport has emphasized that these reports are unconfirmed at this time.


Update 4:15pm EST: The ground stop has been extended again until at least 5:00pm EST (22:00 Zulu) and the FAA Advisory notes the probability of it being extended further is high.


Update 2:55pm EST: The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has now extended the ground stop to at least 4:00pm EST (21:00 Zulu) and reports that 80-100 aircraft are parked on the taxiways and runway 9R waiting for gates.


A major power outage occurred early Sunday afternoon at Atlanta’s Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport (ATL), bringing all flights in and out of the airport to a halt. The airport, which is the busiest in the world by passenger traffic, confirmed the outage at 1:32pm EST:

Delta added its own tweet at 2:34pm EST, acknowledging the situation and advising passengers to check their flight status, as delays and cancellations are expected as a result of the issue.

The FAA has issued a ground stop order for the airport, in effect until at least 2:45pm EST (19:45 Zulu):

In a statement, the FAA said that while the tower at the airport had power, the ground stop was required “because airport equipment in the terminals is not working.”

Passengers reported being stuck on planes and trapped between floors as a result of the outage.

The airport is receiving criticism for a lack of communication about the outage.

At this time the cause of the outage is unknown, nor is it clear why backup generators are not functioning. However, we will update this story as more details become available. If you are in Atlanta airport, please share your experiences in the comments below.

Featured image by Ramin Talaie/Corbis via Getty Images.

This story has been updated multiple times as events warranted.

Know before you go.

News and deals straight to your inbox every day.

2018 TPG Award Winner: Mid-Tier Card of the Year
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

NEW INCREASED OFFER: 60,000 Points

TPG'S BONUS VALUATION*: $1,200

CARD HIGHLIGHTS: 2X points on all travel and dining, points transferrable to over a dozen travel partners

*Bonus value is an estimated value calculated by TPG and not the card issuer. View our latest valuations here.

Apply Now
More Things to Know
  • Earn 60,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. That's $750 toward travel when you redeem through Chase Ultimate Rewards®
  • 2X points on travel and dining at restaurants worldwide & 1 point per dollar spent on all other purchases.
  • Get 25% more value when you redeem for airfare, hotels, car rentals and cruises through Chase Ultimate Rewards. For example, 60,000 points are worth $750 toward travel
Intro APR on Purchases
N/A
Regular APR
18.24% - 25.24% Variable
Annual Fee
$95
Balance Transfer Fee
Either $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Recommended Credit
Excellent/Good

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.