Skip to content

Starwood Reinstates Peak Season Point Increases

Dec. 07, 2010
2 min read
Starwood Reinstates Peak Season Point Increases
This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.
Sign up for our daily newsletter

For the past couple years, Starwood eliminated peak award pricing. Simply put, peak awards are a way for properties to demand more points for busy travel periods. As a Starwood Platinum, this isn't good news, because I generally only redeem for Category 5 and 6 properties. Now, during peak times, Category 5 properties will be 16,000 points a night (instead of 12,000), Category 6 are 25,000 (instead of 20,000) and Category 7 are 35,000 (instead of 30,000). Link to a list of properties and their peak dates. These new inflated rates start January 9, 2011, so if you have any upcoming travel, book now to lock in the lower rate.

Per SPG:
"Peak season award dates have been announced at select properties. Check by region, hotel name or Category to learn individual property dates."

For the past two years, we suspended peak season free night redemption pricing at our Category 5-7 hotels. With the strengthening of the economic climate, our Category 5-7 hotels and resorts had the option of reinstating peak season pricing. Approximately 65% of our hotels in these categories opted to do so. Peak season pricing will be in effect starting January 10, 2011. See below for individual property dates.

Through January 9, 2011, you can redeem your Starpoints® to book free nights at these hotels for the current non-peak Starpoints rate."
[card card-name='Citi ThankYou® Preferred Card – Bonus Point Offer' card-id='22145660' type='javascript' bullet-id='1']